to top 10 table

Best New Balance Shoes Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated May 09, 2019

We have often mentioned the importance of proper gear and golf attire when you are on the golf course. Not only for safety purposes, but many golf courses actually require for individuals to be dressed up a certain way and come ready to play with proper equipment. This not only guarantees professionalism, but it also guarantees that an individual will be highly comfortable on the golf course. With this in mind, we have shared often the best of many different brands when it comes to attire.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 11 hrs of research

icon
 NBG2004
98/100 our score
Materials
99
Comfort
95
Features
99
Value
99
NBG2004
Why is it better?

Quality leather exterior.

Built to be highly durable.

Made to be comfortable.

Golf-specific design.

Revolutionary midsole design.

Lightweight cushion for marathoners.

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
 NBG2004
Test Winner: NBG2004
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
45
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
2000
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
11
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
34
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Materials Comfort Features Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
Materials
99 %
Comfort
95 %
Features
99 %
Value
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.10.19)
Amazon Link
$119.95
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.5
Materials
97 %
Comfort
95 %
Features
98 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.10.19)
Amazon Link
$69.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.3
Materials
95 %
Comfort
95 %
Features
96 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.10.19)
Amazon Link
$89.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.3
Materials
94 %
Comfort
92 %
Features
93 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.10.19)
Amazon Link
$74.95
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Materials
91 %
Comfort
92 %
Features
91 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.10.19)
Amazon Link
$54.95
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.3
Materials
90 %
Comfort
88 %
Features
89 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.10.19)
Amazon Link
$104.95
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.3
Materials
88 %
Comfort
89 %
Features
89 %
Value
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.10.19)
Amazon Link
$89.96
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.5
Materials
86 %
Comfort
87 %
Features
87 %
Value
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.10.19)
Amazon Link
$99.95
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.3
Materials
82 %
Comfort
83 %
Features
85 %
Value
83 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.10.19)
Amazon Link
$74.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80
Materials
80 %
Comfort
80 %
Features
81 %
Value
79 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.10.19)
Amazon Link
$59.96

Top 10 Picks

1. NBG2004

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
 NBG2004
Amazon Link
Materials
99
Comfort
95
Features
99
Value
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$119.95
Pros:

Quality leather exterior.

Built to be highly durable.

Made to be comfortable.

Golf-specific design.

Revolutionary midsole design.

Lightweight cushion for marathoners.

Cons:

May fit snug and small.

This brand is known for their expertise when it comes to shoe designs and material quality. With this, we only expect their products to be of the highest quality and we are eager to share the first item on the list from this brand. This is the New Balance Men’s NBG2004 Golf Shoe and here are two specific features to consider if you want this as a quality golf shoe. Let’s begin!

Read more

The Leather

What may be one of the most unique elements of this product is the exterior material quality. The material quality of this item is a high-quality leather exterior known as microfiber leather. With that, the exterior happens to be a premium and water-resistant material design that ensures maximum quality benefits.

Made for Golf

This quality shoe happens to be a great shoe that is specifically made for golfers. This item is made to be durable, made to be comfortable, and has quality golfing shoe benefits. The benefits include the fact that they are made to be high quality and comfortable. Alongside that, they have cleats on the bottom for traction. They also come with cushioning and a water-resistant design for rainy days.

Cost and Value

To discuss cost and value, we see this product as a high-quality value item that individuals will enjoy. This item is built to last, made to be durable, and has four color choices to choose from. With that, the material design comes in handy, specifically for the golf course. It is important to note that the price will vary depending on color and size, but they are well worth it.

2. NBG1701 Spiked

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.5
NBG1701 Spiked
Amazon Link
Materials
97
Comfort
95
Features
98
Value
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$69.99
Pros:

Microfiber leather that is water-resistant.

Eva midsole for better cushioning

Durable quality design.

Champ slim-lok cleats.

Removeable cleats

Stylish and sporty design.

Great quality traction.

Cons:

Runs small.

Can be hard to break into.

This quality shoe is a next-era design of comfort and durability for golfers that want a sporty shoe design. We want to share the New Balance Men’s NBG1701 Spiked and what individuals can expect. The design is made to be very high quality, last for many years to come, and be very comfortable for all day golfers. Here are two benefits of this shoe.

Read more

Made For Golfers

This product, as expected by the name, is specifically made for golfers. This means that the design is highly comfortable, made to be course durable and offers some of the best grip available. With this, individuals can expect a very sporty look and design that is commonly expected from this brand and their products.

The Cleats

The spiked bottom design is a champ slim-lok spiked cleat design that happens to be removable. Individuals, if they wish, can easily remove the cleats from the bottom of the item as well as replace them easily and effortlessly in the case that they get damaged over time. Even when the cleats are off, the outsole is made to be high quality and offer excellent grip.

Cost and Value

In discussing cost and value, this item averages around the same price as one would expect from this brand. With this, the price is well worth it if you want excellent traction and golf shoe benefits. This item comes with fewer colors to consider, only two actually. With this, we recommend them if you want a sporty shoe design.

3. NBG574B

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.3
NBG574B
Amazon Link
Materials
95
Comfort
95
Features
96
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$89.99
Pros:

Breathable mesh design.

Made to be durable.

High quality.

Two color choices to choose from.

Comfortable insole.

Plug traction bottom.

Cons:

Not as well made as other New Balance shoes.

Not for long term wear and tear.

This next product is a sporty design from this brand with a very slim profile that makes it less bulky than other shoes and even more lightweight. We want to talk about the New Balance Men’s NBG574B shoe and two features individuals can expect of this item. Let’s begin!

Read more

Top Mesh Area

This item is made to be breathable. The last two shoes lack a breathable design that ensures better foot comfort. Well, individuals can expect this product to be highly comfortable, even during hot and sweaty days. The mesh design ensures maximum comfort, maximum durability, and maximum quality benefits. With that, the top mesh area is designed to be durable and water-resistant as well.

Traction Plugs

This product comes with numerous quality benefits. One of these excellent benefits is the bottom plug design. The plugs on the bottom are specifically designed for individuals that want maximum traction on the golf course. With that, the plugs are made to be highly durable and allow for an individual to receive a quality footing when on the course, even on hills.

Cost and Value

As far as price for this item, it is a bit lower than other shoes by this brand, but it may due to the difference in design. This item does not have the cleat-bottom we have come to know from this brand and it happens to lack water-proof benefits. However, it is a very quality, lightweight and breathable product that is easy to walk in all day.

4. Minimus

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.3
Minimus
Amazon Link
Materials
94
Comfort
92
Features
93
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$74.95
Pros:

Flexible endurance spikeless design.

Rubber outsole made for quality.

Ortholite insole wicks moisture.

The inside stays cool and dry.

Plug traction bottom.

Different color choices available.

Cons:

Too narrow.

The back of the shoe can cause blisters if not worn with proper socks.

This sporty golf shoe brings modern benefits and design elements to a brand that is known for their sporty and traditional sport shoe designs. With a low-profile design and plenty of color choices to choose from, all with bright accents, this shoe is designed to stand out for the crowd. Here are two features to consider of this product, the New Balance Men’s Minimus.

Read more

The Design

The design of this product is very unique and different. The design is a low-profile design that is also a water-resistant no-sew fit that allows for lightweight support. With this, it has a FantomFit upper that is made to be supportive and hug the foot while on the golf course. This allows for better foot placement alongside ankle placement and lightweight support.

Ortholite Insole Design

The insole is also one of the expert benefits of this product. The insole is known as an Ortholite insole that is designed to wick away moisture to keep a cool and dry interior feel. Overall, the insole is designed to be highly comfortable and highly durable as well, allowing for an all-day cushioning design.

Cost and Value

The real question is, “is this product for all day wear and tear?” We can say that it is! The reason being is that this specific style from this brand has a high-quality finish alongside unique design benefits and an overall quality design. It is comfortable, comes in a variety of color choices, and the low-profile design makes the sporty and modern, appealing to many different age groups. For the price, they are actually cheaper than other brands.

5. NBG518

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
NBG518
Amazon Link
Materials
91
Comfort
92
Features
91
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$54.95
Pros:

Mesh synthetic design that is comfortable.

Lightweight and breathable.

Heel to toe drop is comfortable.

Rubber outsole traction.

Traction plugs on the bottom.

Different colors and sizes to choose from.

Cons:

Runs large.

More costly than other golf shoes.

This next shoe blends what we have come to like about this brand, sporty appearance, and slim designs. This New Balance Men’s NBG518 is a blend of unique sporty benefits, alongside a comfortable heel to drop design that is well worth it. Here are two features of the New Balance Men’s NBG518 Golf Shoe and what individuals can expect.

Read more

Mesh Overlay

This product has a quality overlay design that ensures maximum durability and comfortable benefits. The overlay of this product is a durable and breathable mesh upper that is designed to be lightweight and allows for individuals to feel cool daily comfort. Therefore, the foot does not get overly hot after hours of use.

Golf-Specific Technologies

This product is made specifically for golfers. For the golfer in all of us that wants an excellent product that is comfortable and durable, this is it. This product is designed for golfers that want excellent on-the-course traction without cleats. The specific plug design guarantees all-day traction alongside plenty of comfort benefits. With this, individuals can expect the design if last the test of time.

Cost and Value

To discuss cost and value for this shoe, individuals can expect the price to be a bit higher than other shoes from the manufacturer. However, the design is one of the most appealing in the industry overall. The sporty but comfortable shoe design is low to the ground, has excellent traction, and ensures individuals will be comfortable all day long.

6. SL

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.3
SL
Amazon Link
Materials
90
Comfort
88
Features
89
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$104.95
Pros:

2-year waterproof warranty.

Lightweight and responsive design.

Enhanced cushioning and comfort.

Leather exterior.

Traditional design.

Cons:

Only two-color choices.

Very bulky.

The first aspect to consider when we think of this particular shoe is that it is very bulky. If you are not a fan of the narrow or slim design and you want an authentic and traditional bulky shoe design, this is the product for you. We want to talk about two specific benefits of the New Balance Men’s 574 SL Golf Shoe and what individuals can expect when it comes to this product.

Read more

Waterproof Microfiber Leather

This product, as we shared in product number one, comes with a quality leather exterior known as microfiber leather. This type of material ensures comfortable durability alongside a waterproof design that makes it a great product for every type of weather a golfer may encounter. The shoe is also scratch and dirt resistant due to this quality exterior.

REVlite Midsole

The interior of this product has a high-quality midsole design that ensures maximum benefits and lightweight comfort. Alongside this, the midsole is a 10mm drop design from heel to toe that also allows for an individual to feel their ground clearance and traction more, while also allowing for better energy return and foot cushioning in the areas that are most important.

Cost and Value

To discuss price, benefits, and the value of this item, individuals can expect the exterior of this shoe to be more high quality than other shoes in the industry. With this, the cost is also a bit more expensive, but it is well worth it. The waterproof design, the upper, the lightweight cushioning, and the responsiveness ensure maximum durability and comfort.

7. NBG3001

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.3
NBG3001
Amazon Link
Materials
88
Comfort
89
Features
89
Value
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$89.96
Pros:

Microfiber leather durability.

Water-resistant finish.

Ultralight and breathable comforts.

Slim-lok removable cleats.

Welded form fitted tongue.

Quality construction.

Built to last.

Cons:

They run tight.

Only one-color choices.

This next product on our list is what we have come to know and appreciate this brand, taking simple designs to the next level. This is a comfortable and high-quality shoe that individuals will appreciate their superior comfort, overall design, and maximum durability. However, is the price tag worth the benefits? Let’s find out!

Read more

Built To Last

This item is highly durable and built to last. The design is the premium water-resistant leather microfiber upper that we have talked about in various shoes on our list. However, this item also has quality stitching that ensures the product lasts the test of time and individuals can get the most from their shoe. This item also comes with the FantomFit support that ensures an ultralight step with heavy cushioning comforts.

The Design

The design of this product includes cleats on the bottom and a welded tongue construction. This design is ensuring to last the test of time and has some of the best and most excellent quality benefits to consider. The form fitted tongue ensures no blisters on the foot, while the cleats ensure maximum traction with every step.

Cost and Value

As far as price, value, and benefits, individuals are opting for one of the highest quality designs as far as golf shoes from this brand and any brand. The design is durable, ensures maximum longevity, is comfortable for all-day wear and tear and has a traction bottom so every step is a secure step in the right direction. It does only come in one color choice, but individuals can expect it to be well worth it.

8. Minimus SL

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.5
Minimus SL
Amazon Link
Materials
86
Comfort
87
Features
87
Value
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$99.95
Pros:

Waterproof microfiber leather upper.

Ultralight FantomFit support.

REVlite midsole lightweight cushioning design.

Premium responsiveness.

2-year warranty design.

Waterproof and flexible.

Spikeless rubber outsole.

Comfortable to wear.

Cons:

Can fit bulky.

May run wide.

This next product is known as a fan favorite in the golf community due to the design and the overall benefits. We want to share the New Balance Men’s Minimus SL Golf Shoe and two features individuals can expect from this golf shoe design. Here are two benefits to consider.

Read more

Waterproof Leather

This product, as we have come to know, boasts this brand’s best feature of all, it is waterproof. This is due to the microfiber leather upper that is ultralight, comfortable, and designed to last. This microfiber not only serves the benefit of it being lightweight and waterproof, but it is easy to clean and does not get scratched easily.

The Outsole

The outsole of this product has a high-end feel and traction benefit. Although this product comes without cleats, it does have their NDurance spikeless rubber plugs, that are designed for traction benefits and energy return. With these plugs, individuals can expect better traction on the course as well as a more secure step.

Cost and Value

As far as cost and value, this item is worth it if you love the design of their Minimus series but want enhanced benefits and comfort. The price is standard of what we have come know from this brand. With three color choices to consider, we recommend this product if you want quality benefits and masterful build quality, stitching, and cushioning.

9. Minimus Tour

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.3
Minimus Tour
Amazon Link
Materials
82
Comfort
83
Features
85
Value
83
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$74.99
Pros:

Waterproof upper design.

Ultralight FantomFit support.

Revlite 4mm drip midsole.

Comfortable midsole.

Ultra-flexible design.

NDurance rubber outsole.

2-year waterproof warranty.

Cons:

The cleats may fall out.

Pricey.

This product comes from the MInimus series but has a very different look and design from other shoes by this brand. We want to share the New Balance Men’s Minimus Tour Golf Shoe and two specific features that individuals can enjoy and expect from this shoe. Let’s begin!

Read more

Responsive Comfort

This product comes with a responsive comfort design known as REVlite. This is a specifically formulated insole from this brand that provides a high level of cushioning and premium responsiveness. Overall, the midsole allows for individuals to feel more secure on the golf course with each step that they take. With that, the cushioning allows for better all-day comfort and individuals feel less fatigue.

2-Year Warranty

One of our favorite aspects of this brand as that they stand by their waterproof benefits. In fact, this item comes with a 2-year waterproof warranty that secures individuals will get the biggest value for their shoe. With that, part of the waterproof design is due to the quality stitching and waterproof upper and quality interior midsole.

Cost and Value

With three quality color choices, this is a great item to consider. The New Balance Men’s Minimus Tour Golf Shoe is excellent for individuals that want a golf shoe for a golf tour or want on the course traction and benefits. The overall design is built to last, it happens to be durable, and it is considered high quality and effective. Overall, the design is the biggest plus of this item.

10. NBG574 Spiked

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80
NBG574 Spiked
Amazon Link
Materials
80
Comfort
80
Features
81
Value
79
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$59.96
Pros:

Excellent quality comfort.

Premium waterproof microfiber design.

Leather upper is durable.

Removable cleats.

Three color choices.

Different sizes to choose from.

Cons:

Runs small.

Tight in the toe region.

As the last shoe on this quality list, we want to talk about the New Balance Men’s NBG574. This item comes with many of the excellent features we have come to know from this brand and individuals can expect this product to be masterful as far as design benefits and overall value. Here are two features if you are considering this golf shoe.

Read more

Leather Exterior

This product comes with a seamless and easy to clean leather exterior. The exterior is known as a durable and comfortable exterior that is high end and boasts premium quality features. The microfiber exterior is also waterproof, and individuals can expect this product to have one of the highest water-proof ratings in the industry.

Lightweight Cushioning

This shoe comes with a comfortable insole cushion design that allows for lightweight steps without losing traction. With this, the insole has a cool and dry comfort design that allows for moisture wicking benefits. Overall, the interior alongside the exterior enhances the overall value of the item.

Cost and Value

This product comes with three color choices to choose from, making it an excellent choice for any individual that wants a quality golf shoe. As far as price, it is not as costly as other items on this list and in the range of quality golf shoes, it has excellent benefits to consider that are synonymous when it comes to this brand.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Materials

The most common materials that shoes by this brand are made out of include, synthetic, rubber, TPU, and synthetic leather. With this, it is important to consider that the material quality will have different overall benefits as far as the product design.

Overall, as far as construction one of the most important aspects to consider is the outsole. The outsole guarantees maximum traction on the golf course and without a proper golf-friendly outsole, individuals will not make it near the golf course. With that, we want to move forward and talk about the insole and the comfort importance.

Comfort

When selecting a quality product from this brand, the insole and the overall comfort is a crucial aspect to consider. The outside and inside of the shoe go hand and hand. There is no point in having a durable and high-quality exterior if the interior is made to be poor and of low quality. The reason being is that individuals will experience foot fatigue and not be able to perform as properly on the golf course. As far as the insole for this brand, individuals can expect a quality design due to their RevLite design which guarantees energy return, comfort, plush cushioning, and much more. This is only one of the many different insole design benefits from this brand. With that, we can guarantee that these shoes are of the best comfort. Lastly, if you are considering a specific shoe but what to add your own insole, ensure that the insole is removable.

Features

As the next criteria on our list, we want to share that features to consider is an important aspect of selecting a quality product. As we said in the introduction, the features are determined by the specific design of the product. However, we want to share primary features and secondary features to consider when it comes to a particular golf shoe.

Primary Features:

Breathability
Durability
Cushioned for comfort.
Traction Bottom grip design.
Padding
Secondary Features:

Moisture Wicking.
Energy Return Padding.
Waterproof or Water Resistant.
Lightweight
Responsive Foot Placement.
Removeable Cleats.

Value

As far as this criteria, we wanted to focus on cost and value. As individuals can tell, this is a universal aspect in all of our articles. Not only do we want to guarantee maximum benefits and features, but we want to ensure that each product is well worth the money. With that, this brand has a universal pricing scale when it comes to their products. Since their shoes tend to be around the same design, features, and benefits, the price is always around the same mark, ranging from $60 – $150. With this in mind, it is important to acknowledge that the price reflects the quality of the item as well.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Versatility

The versatility this shoe brand offers makes it great for players who don't always want to play with their cleats on.

Moisture wicking

Not only are these shoe's moisture wicking and they are waterproof which is awesome for playing in different weather !

Other Factors to Consider

Brand

The brand history was an important factor to consider when selecting the best shoes. The reason being is that this brand excels in the area of quality and design benefits. More so, their products are seamlessly designed for quality benefits and guaranteed to withstand the test of time. Lastly, this brand has a reputation for creating some of the highest quality sporty shoes in the industry. When compared to Nike or Adidas, this brand excels in the area of sportiness and is sure to deliver a quality product.

With all of this said, we hope that we have shed some light when selecting the best quality New Balance shoe. No matter your style or design of choice, we can back the fact that this brand excels in the area of quality and performance. With this, we want to move forward and answer some of the most common questions that individuals may have.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Does the shoe come with a warranty?

a:

This is a question worth considering. Many shoes from this brand that are waterproof tend to have a warranty of two years. With, it is important to take into consideration which product does have a warranty and which do not.

q: What if I don’t want shoes with cleats?

a:

If you want golf shoes with no cleats, this brand offers removable cleats in their shoes or a specific golf shoe design that has plugs instead of cleats.

q: What is the best golf shoe for winter golfing?

a:

We recommend if you are golfing in cold weather to scratch breathable golf shoes that have mesh or perforations. Otherwise, your toes will be very cold!

q: What are the tiny holes on the golf shoe?

a:

Tiny holes in the design of the shoe are known as ‘perforations.’ This ensures that an individual will be comfortable when wearing the product for long periods at a time.