to top 10 table

Best Green Teas Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated Apr 27, 2019

Whether you like it cold or you like it hot, green tea has long been known for having some of the best antioxidant properties in the world. In fact, green tea is among one of the healthiest types of teas an individual can consume. Having a cup of green tea a day can ensure a long healthy life alongside a healthy body. With that, you may ask yourself how green tea is beneficial for a golfer? Well, other than being high in health benefits, it leads to a more alert mind, relaxed muscles, and overall body wellness.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 12 hrs of research

icon
Twining’s of London
98.5/100 our score
Value
99
Materials
98
Use
99
Potency
98
Twining’s of London
Why is it better?

Delicious tasting green tea.

Flavorful and potent.

Full of rich antioxidants.

Easy to use K-cup design.

Easy to store.

Trusted brand.

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Twining’s of London
Test Winner: Twining’s of London
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
40
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
45
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
12
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
35
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Value Materials Use Potency By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.5
Value
99 %
Materials
98 %
Use
99 %
Potency
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$14.89
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.5
Value
99 %
Materials
98 %
Use
97 %
Potency
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$13.68
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Value
95 %
Materials
96 %
Use
95 %
Potency
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.5
Value
94 %
Materials
93 %
Use
93 %
Potency
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$9.48
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Value
92 %
Materials
90 %
Use
91 %
Potency
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$6.48
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Value
90 %
Materials
89 %
Use
89 %
Potency
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$22.45
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Value
89 %
Materials
90 %
Use
88 %
Potency
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$6.41
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87
Value
88 %
Materials
87 %
Use
88 %
Potency
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$29.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.3
Value
84 %
Materials
85 %
Use
85 %
Potency
83 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$17.98
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.8
Value
84 %
Materials
84 %
Use
83 %
Potency
84 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (12.11.19)
Amazon Link
$17.99

Top 10 Picks

1. Twining’s of London

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.5
Twining’s of London
Amazon Link
Value
99
Materials
98
Use
99
Potency
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.89
Pros:

Delicious tasting green tea.

Flavorful and potent.

Full of rich antioxidants.

Easy to use K-cup design.

Easy to store.

Trusted brand.

Cons:

Costly.

Green tea has long been known for having some of the healthiest properties when it comes to energy an antioxidant. With this said, we want to share the first green tea on this list that is designed for easy use and made with the highest quality green tea leaves. Twining’s has long been known for their expert products and the Twining’s of London Green tea K-Cup packet is perfect for individuals that have a Keurig.

Read more

Fresh Flavor

This product is packaged really well. If you are familiar with K-cups, they have an easy to puncture filter on the inside that also keeps the green tea very fresh. With this, there are 24 counts of K-cups for the price. Although it is much less than buying green tea packets, it is the ease of use that makes it a fan favorite.

Hand Selected Leaves

When it comes to selecting the best green tea leaves, this brand excels in cultivating some of the highest quality green tea leaves in the industry. With expert quality leaves, individuals can expect that the leaves will offer a distinctive quality flavor that is also potent.

Cost and Value

To discuss cost and value, we want to share that this brand is one of the highest qualities within the tea industry. With this, they offer a large selection of teas. When it comes to green tea in K-cups, individuals can select a 24 count or 12-count of K-cups per pack. For the price, they are a bit overpriced, but it is the ease-of-use that raises the price.

2. Bigelow

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.5
Bigelow
Amazon Link
Value
99
Materials
98
Use
97
Potency
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$13.68
Pros:

Great deal if bought in bulk.

Taste delicious.

Trusted brand.

Plenty of positive reviews.

No harsh taste.

Subtle bitterness.

Cons:

Cannot be bought individually unless in a store.

Not as potent as other brands.

Everybody knows the Bigelow brand. They have developed one of the largest tea industries in the world and they happen to be in almost every grocery store. With that, individuals love the taste of this particular green tea because of it’s natural and healthy flavor and benefits. Here are two features of the particular green tea from this brand.

Read more

40 Count

This pack of Bigelow green tea has forty individually packed green tea packets that can be used with a tea infuser or simply placed in a hot water mug. With this, it is important to note that the packets are high quality and cannot be easily broken, which is often a worry or concern of many individuals.

Foil Pouch

Another quality benefit of this brand is how they package their products. This product, in particular, comes with a specialized foil pouch over each packet that traps in the aroma, so the tea never loses flavor. With that in mind, we can say that this brand packages their products really well, ensuring each packet is individually taken care of with quality and care.

Cost and Value

Let’s discuss the cost of this product. Often, green tea boxes come sold individually. However, online it can often be found in a pack of six. With that, for a pack of six, each box comes to around $3, which is an unbelievable price. If you are a fan of buying in bulk, we recommend buying green tea

3. Yogi

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Yogi
Amazon Link
Value
95
Materials
96
Use
95
Potency
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Potent and strong green tea flavor.

Taste great.

Made to be healthy.

Antioxidant properties.

Super antioxidant.

Contains caffeine for energy boost.

Plenty of different flavors available.

Cons:

Potency may cause acid reflux.

More costly than others.

This next brand we want to share with our audience is actually often compared to the last two on the list. However, this product happens to be made from premium quality green tea leaves and in turn, it happens to be much more potent than other brands. If you are seeking a strong green tea filled with antioxidant properties, we recommend Yogi.

Read more

Grapeseed Amla Extracts

So, this particular product happens to be made from highly potent green tea. However, the flavors are more enhances than most because this brand also uses grapeseed and amla extracts to supply and create a potent antioxidant blend of green tea that helps reduce and fight free radicals in the human body.

Lemongrass Flavor

This product happens to be full green tea with lemongrass flavor. With this, individuals can expect a light note of citrus alongside a jasmine blend taste that is sweet and very tasty. With that said, it reduces the bitterness of the highly strong and overwhelming green tea leaves.

Cost and Value

To discuss cost and value, we first want to share that this product comes with various flavors other than lemongrass. In fact, you can select flavors ranging from blueberry to blackberry and even organic green tea. With that, the flavor is very strong. For the price, individuals can expect a pack of six with a total of 96 tea bags overall, which is less than other brands and more pricey.

4. Lipton

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.5
Lipton
Amazon Link
Value
94
Materials
93
Use
93
Potency
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$9.48
Pros:

All-natural tasting green tea.

Rainforest alliance certified.

Trusted brand with years of experience.

Flavorful and tasty.

Quality tea.

Cons:

The package may break easily.

The bag string may break easily.

We know the Lipton brand for offering some of the highest quality products in the industry. With that, we are eager to share the GreenTea packer from this brand. This is 100% pure green tea, made with quality ingredients and designed to last. Here are two features of this excellent product.

Read more

100% Natural

This particular product happens to be one of the healthiest in the industry. In fact, this product is actually 100% natural and has no additives, colorings, or even preservatives. For golfers that want a quality green tea that ensures better health and immunity boost, we recommend this one.

Rainforest Alliance Certified

This product is rainforest alliance certified, meaning it meets the highest level of quality when harvesting. With this, individuals can expect that they are buying from a brand that does not harvest in an unethical or harming way towards our environment.

Cost and Value

To discuss cost and value, it is important to recognize that this brand may be the most famous name in the teat community. With that, their products are also high-quality and taste very delicious due to the highest-level standards of care. The pouches are designed to be of quality and the tea bags are easy to steep and quite flavorful. For the price, you never go wrong with this brand.

5. Uncle Lee’s

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Uncle Lee’s
Amazon Link
Value
92
Materials
90
Use
91
Potency
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$6.48
Pros:

Great tasting green tea.

Flavorful.

Organic cultivation.

No pesticides.

Delicious taste.

Trusted brand.

Cons:

Costly.

We are often familiar with the packaging of this quality brand. If you ever stumble across the adorable panda eating a bamboo leaf, then you know it is Uncle Lee’s. Not only that, but their green tea happens to be all organic and made from some of the highest quality tea leaves in the industry. Here are two benefits of this brand.

Read more

Healthy

This product is 100% organic, which makes it even more healthy than other brands. With this, individuals can expect that it is going to taste delicious and even more potent because of the overall quality of the tea leaves. Being 100% organic also ensures easier consumption, better benefits, and more potency and strength as far as flavor.

The Method In Which It Is Grown

When buying from this brand, individuals can expect the method for which the green tea leaves are grown and cultivated is of the healthiest and most quality care. For instance, this brand only uses organic and natural fertilizer. With that, they do not use any harmful chemicals such as pesticides or any sprays that may harm or alter the taste.

Cost and Value

To discuss cost and value, it is important to note that this happens to be one of the highest quality brands in the industry when it comes to teas. With that, it is a bit costlier than most other green tea manufacturers but it is due to the organic quality of the product. Overall, we recommend it if you want value and quality.

6. Stash Tea Premium

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Stash Tea Premium
Amazon Link
Value
90
Materials
89
Use
89
Potency
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$22.45
Pros:

Delicious and flavorful green tea.

Durable box and packet.

High quality green tea.

100% natural green tea.

Japanese green tea.

Premium benefits.

Cons:

Not as strong as other brands.

As the next premium green tea brand on our list, this brand is known for their quality flavors and delicious teas. Stash Tea Premium Green Tea is a delicious and fragrant green tea that is harvested in quality ways that ensure maximum potency and flavor from each leaf. Here are two features of this excellent product.

Read more

100 Count Box

The box happens to be a highly stylish and simple cardboard box that is enhanced by the amount of tea inside. In fact, the count is about 100 tea bags overall. With this, this product is either a great gift or even a personal box for one-third of the year.

Delicious

This green tea happens to have a very subtle texture that is smooth and tastes delicious. Overall, the potency is flavorful, and the green tea is high quality. If you want quality alongside plenty of health benefits, we recommend this delicious green tea brand.

Cost and Value

To determine cost and value, it is important to note that this product comes with one hundred different packets. With that said, the flavor is of the highest quality and each packet is even stashed in a durable pouch that holds the aroma in very well. With that, we highly recommend this product if you want one hundred packets in one box.

7. Prince of Peace

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Prince of Peace
Amazon Link
Value
89
Materials
90
Use
88
Potency
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$6.41
Pros:

Great tasting green tea.

Individually wrapped for quality.

100 count tea bags.

100% organic green tea.

USDA certified.

Price well.

Cons:

Not as strong as other brands.

As the next brand on the list, we want to share a quality green tea brand that is 100% organic and high quality. With a delicious taste and close to five stars in reviews, this may be one of the best deals when it comes to quality and delicious taste. This is the Prince of Peace Organic Green Tea. Here are two features to consider.

Read more

USDA Organic

This product is 100% organic and it happens to also be USDA certified. With this, individuals can expect that they are not buying into any harmful chemicals or fake tasting green tea. It comes with 100 tea packets that are made to be durable and made to be easy to steep.

Delicious Tasting

This product has a very delicious tasting profile and overall is made of the best quality in the industry. With this in mind, we believe that individuals will appreciate the overall palate of the item alongside the health benefits. If you want a quality taste, we recommend this product.

Cost and Value

Let’s discuss cost and value for this brand. Overall, this product is of the best quality and individuals can expect it to be great tasting. With that, for a 100-count it actually is even cheaper than most brands and packaged really well. The bags are designed to not break easily and overall, individuals can expect the product to be well designed.

8. Vahdam

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87
Vahdam
Amazon Link
Value
88
Materials
87
Use
88
Potency
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.99
Pros:

Great tasting tea.

High quality benefits.

Extra zipper bag included.

Vacuum packaged for freshness.

Made for quality.

Organic and energizing.

Great gift.

Cons:

Expensive for small pack.

This next green tea is a high-quality tea that is designed for a 14-day detox and it is one of the highest qualities. This loose-leaf tea is made with the highest quality concentration and with the purest of methods. It is 100% pure and designed to ensure the healthiest of benefits alongside masterful and strong taste.

Read more

All Natural

This product happens to be 100% natural and made with the highest quality craftsmanship. In the process, there are no harmful ingredients or chemicals to harvest this product and individuals can expect to taste it delicious and be highly strong. Harvested from the Himalayas, this product is made from high-quality tea leaves.

Vacuum Packaged

This product is individually packaged with a two-layer packaging that ensures the best quality design. With this, individuals can expect that the aroma will stay in the product and that it will not lose taste or aroma with time. This product is designed to stay fresh and delicious.

Cost and Value

When talking about cost and value, it is important to note that this item is designed from the highest quality tea leaves in the industry alongside a vacuum sealed design that is aluminum lined and zippered. With that, it is all organic, pure, deliciously tasting, and a beautiful gift to any individual.

9. Tazo

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
84.3
Tazo
Amazon Link
Value
84
Materials
85
Use
85
Potency
83
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$17.98
Pros:

Trusted brand.

Deliciously tasty.

Harmonious blend.

Great flavors.

Has caffeine.

Cons:

Expensive price online.

We have gotten to know the Tazo brand for their quality products and delicious flavors. With that, we want to share this green tea for its value, all-natural taste and delicious, harmonious blend of lemongrass and spearmint. Here are two elements to consider this product.

Read more

Has Caffeine

If you need a daily boost of caffeine but do not want it from coffee, we highly recommend this product. This particular green tea is designed with an intermediate level of caffeine, so individuals can gain a daily boost of energy. With that, it tastes delicious due to the floral and tasty notes of the lemongrass and spearmint.

Trusted Brand

When Tazo hit the scene it easily became one of the highest quality brands and most trusted when it comes to flavorful products. With this in mind, we want to say that this product is high quality, tasty and delicious as far as consistent flavor.

Cost and Value

When talking about cost and value, this product is high quality and designed for a great and tasty effect. With that, this product comes in a two pack which is slightly more expensive overall compared to buying it in the store. Overall, we highly recommend it when it comes to the taste and the brand.

10. Kirkland Signature

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.8
Kirkland Signature
Amazon Link
Value
84
Materials
84
Use
83
Potency
84
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$17.99
Pros:

Priced really well.

Tasting flavor.

Great tasting.

Made in Japan.

High quality flavor.

Cons:

Very bitter.

This next particular green tea is of high quality and a great blend of green tea with matcha. If you love matcha and appreciate the strength of the flavor, this may be a quality green tea to get. Let’s talk about the Kirkland Signature Ito En Matcha Blend Green Tea.

Read more

Authentic Japanese Tea

This is as authentic as it gets. This particular product is a high-quality tea from Japan’s lush tea plantations that have perfected the green tea cultivation process. With that, this product is high quality and great tasting overall.

Great Taste

This product has a delicious taste that is only enhanced by the matcha flavor. Alongside this, the aroma is beautiful and the leaves are of the highest quality. When it comes to taste, individuals can expect a potent and strong flavor that is only enhanced by the matcha blend.

Cost and Value

To discuss cost and value, it is important to note that this brand produces their leaves from Japan and uses the healthiest of measures. With that, individuals can expect a deliciously tasting product that is potent and high quality. Alongside this, there are different package sizes to choose from and the price only reflects the quality of the item.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Value

we found the cost and value for the brand to be one of the most important factors for numerous reasons. The first reason is that we wanted to ensure that individuals were getting a quality deal for their product. Now, what we discovered is that many brands sell green tea boxes in bulk or in packs online. Therefore, buying a singular pack may be more effective in the store. However, if you know you love the Tazo green tea, why not buy it online in bulk so you never have to run out.

The second reason is that we wanted to ensure that each tea was made with the highest quality products to ensure the best yield. With this, we can determine that individuals will enjoy the many brands that we shared above and they will find the value with each sip.

Materials

We took into consideration when sharing the top best green teas, we first wanted to focus on the quality of the leaves. Now, we are not masters in the green tea field. However, we are masters when it comes to collecting and research information and we want to share the many different guidelines when it comes to the quality of the leaves of green tea.

Potency
As the first most important fact to consider when it comes to the quality of green tea leaves, the potency is the most important factor. The reason being is that potency will eventually lead to the strength of the flavor and how flavorful it is overall. With that in mind, there are other factors, which we share below that determine the potency and the flavor of the green tea.

Organic or Non-Organic
Now, this factor not only effects the overall flavor and potency but also how healthy the product is. As the second guideline when determining the quality of the leaves, organic and non-organic play a large role in different factors of green tea leaves. For instance, organic leaves are picked from the best quality leaves in the industry and cultivated in organic and healthy methods. With that in mind, many brands that are organic will say so on their product description or will have a USDA Organic seal. With that, non-organic is not harmful or bad, however, it is lower in price and lowers in flavor than organic.

Loose Leaf or in Sachet
As another factor in determining the quality of the leaves, loose leaf teas tend to taste much stronger then teas n a sachet. Loose leaves tend to be much more potent and healthy in nature then sachets for many different reasons, which we will discuss later on. With that, loose leaf is considered higher quality than in a sachet and therefore is also costlier.

Use

We wanted to enhance on the idea of the loose leaf and sachet green teas because the sachet plays a vital role in how flavorful and distinguished the tea leaves will be. With that in mind, we want to share why the packaging of loose leaf tea is crucial.

Loose Leaf
Loose leaf tea is packaged without a sachet. With that in mind, there are different factors to consider when it comes to loose leaf tea such as the overall quality of the product, the flavor, the packaging, and if it will be able to hold it’s delicious aroma. We discovered in our process that brands tend to package loose leaf in double sealed containers, aluminum bags, or jars that are specifically designed to insulate the aroma of the tea. With this, the loose leaf tea is known as more luxurious and quality than sachet teas. How do sachet teas compare?

Sachets
As far as teas in a sachet, they can still be made of great quality but there are different factors to consider. For a quality sachet of green tea to taste delicious and have plenty of flavors, it should first be made from an unbleached sachet. With this, only most premium brands have this feature. It is not uncommon for many brands to use bleached sachets to package their green tea. However, more importantly, many brands will have a second packaging over the green tea bag either made of paper or quality aluminum to trap the aroma of the tea inside the seal. With this, individuals are guaranteed a quality sachet with plenty of flavors. Therefore, this is an important factor to consider when selecting the best green tea for you.

Potency

We first wanted to focus on the quality of the leaves. Now, we are not masters in the green tea field. However, we are masters when it comes to collecting and research information and we want to share the many different guidelines when it comes to the quality of the leaves of green tea.

Potency
As the first most important fact to consider when it comes to the quality of green tea leaves, the potency is the most important factor. The reason being is that potency will eventually lead to the strength of the flavor and how flavorful it is overall. With that in mind, there are other factors, which we share below that determine the potency and the flavor of the green tea.

Organic or Non-Organic
Now, this factor not only effects the overall flavor and potency but also how healthy the product is. As the second guideline when determining the quality of the leaves, organic and non-organic play a large role in different factors of green tea leaves. For instance, organic leaves are picked from the best quality leaves in the industry and cultivated in organic and healthy methods. With that in mind, many brands that are organic will say so on their product description or will have a USDA Organic seal. With that, non-organic is not harmful or bad, however, it is lower in price and lowers in flavor than organic.

Loose Leaf or in Sachet
As another factor in determining the quality of the leaves, loose leaf teas tend to taste much stronger then teas n a sachet. Loose leaves tend to be much more potent and healthy in nature then sachets for many different reasons, which we will discuss later on. With that, loose leaf is considered higher quality than in a sachet and therefore is also costlier.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Potency
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Not a fan of hot tea?

Consider brewing yourself a cold glass of green tea, it's super easy. Most of the brands have recipes for cold tea and it's quite appetizing.

Replacing the cup of joe

If you're an avid coffee drinker, looking for a green tea that has caffine in them. Not only will you be getting the pick me up you need you'll be getting all the antioxidants!

Other Factors to Consider

Bottom Line

One may ask, “there is a whole criterion just for green tea?” The answer is yes! Reason being is that there are many cheap brands that produce this product but in the worst of ways with unhealthy leaves and harmful chemicals. Therefore, we went on a search to find the best green teas in the industry and we want to share this criterion with our audience. If you are a fan of this kind of tea and you are unfamiliar as to which brands to select, we want to share with our audience the different ways to select the best green tea as well as to what is most important to look out for from a brand, the flavor and more.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How many cups does one sachet yield?

a:

When it comes to the flavor one can get from one sachet, it is important to note that will range depending on the brand. However, as a safe bet, most non-organic brands can yield around half a cup of green tea compared to organic brands. Organic green tea tends to be strong enough with a full cup of water. With this, it also depends on whether the tea is flavored with other elements such as lemongrass or mint.

q: Can you put honey in your green tea?

a:

Although many individuals do this, there is a common idea that honey may cause the antioxidant properties of green tea to lower. This could not be farther from the truth! In fact, the best blend to create with green tea is the tea itself with lemon and honey. This not only is extremely healthy, it can cause weight loss, enhance your mood, and be an immune booster.

q: What is better honey or sugar?

a:

As another one of the most common questions, when it comes to sweetening your green tea, the best sugar to use, if any, is organic cane sugar. However, honey is always the best alternative.

q: What is stronger loose leaf or sachets?

a:

As another common question, loose leaf tends to be the strongest due to the potency of the leaves. However, it also depends on how much you steep and the temperature of the water. Sachets are equally strong if steeped properly.

q: Does green tea have caffeine?

a:

Some green teas do have caffeine, and some do not. It all primarily depends on the cultivation process. With that, many brands will label in the packaging whether the product has caffeine or not.