to top 10 table

Best Golf Grip Tapes Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated Sep 20, 2019

If you are starting in golf or are a seasoned golfer, then you know the importance of ensuring that your gear is up to date and well designed. Whether you are buying a bag for your clubs, a washcloth to clean your clubs, or even something as simple as grip tape, then you know that it takes a level of research to ensure that you are picking out the best item. With that said, we want to share our top ten best golf grip tapes as well as the research that has led us to pick out the top ten products.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 14 hrs of research

icon
Wedge Guys
97.5/100 our score
Value
99
Materials
97
Durability
98
Brand
96
Wedge Guys
Why is it better?

Deluxe grip kit that is high quality.

10” premium double sided adhesive strips.

Perfect grip everytime.

Rubber vise clamp is easy to use and made of thick durable rubber.

Remover has been proven and tested to last well over 100 grips.

Easily remove and regrip system.

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Wedge Guys
Test Winner: Wedge Guys
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
25
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
700
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
14
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
50
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Value Materials Durability Brand By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.5
Value
99 %
Materials
97 %
Durability
98 %
Brand
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.19)
Amazon Link
$12.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Value
98 %
Materials
96 %
Durability
95 %
Brand
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.19)
Amazon Link
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.5
Value
97 %
Materials
95 %
Durability
94 %
Brand
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.19)
Amazon Link
$6.62
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Value
95 %
Materials
94 %
Durability
94 %
Brand
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.19)
Amazon Link
$10.95
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Value
94 %
Materials
94 %
Durability
95 %
Brand
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.19)
Amazon Link
$10.95
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.5
Value
94 %
Materials
93 %
Durability
93 %
Brand
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.19)
Amazon Link
$15.89
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.3
Value
92 %
Materials
90 %
Durability
90 %
Brand
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.19)
Amazon Link
$14.94
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Value
90 %
Materials
89 %
Durability
89 %
Brand
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.19)
Amazon Link
$23.69
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.3
Value
89 %
Materials
87 %
Durability
86 %
Brand
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.19)
Amazon Link
$58.44
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.8
Value
87 %
Materials
86 %
Durability
86 %
Brand
84 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (21.10.19)
Amazon Link
$13.90

Top 10 Picks

1. Wedge Guys

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.5
Wedge Guys
Amazon Link
Value
99
Materials
97
Durability
98
Brand
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$12.99
Pros:

Deluxe grip kit that is high quality.

10” premium double sided adhesive strips.

Perfect grip everytime.

Rubber vise clamp is easy to use and made of thick durable rubber.

Remover has been proven and tested to last well over 100 grips.

Easily remove and regrip system.

Cons:

The solvent may differ depending on purchase.

One strip may have a defect, which is rare.

If you are looking to enhance the grip of your clubs, then there is no other brand to better do it with than this one. We are eager to talk about the full kit set of the Wedge Guys Complete Golf Grip Kit, a quality grip kit designed for individuals that want quality and everything needed to start the process today. Here are two unique features of this golf grip aid.

Read more

The Tape Strips

One of the quality aspects of a grip tape strip is how it is designed. This particular tape strip is designed with a premium double sided adhesive that ensures maximum grip and traction when using the grip. Other than that, one of the best benefits is that it will not bunch up when being installed, which can severely damage the club and cause hours of frustration.

The Solvent

Part of the process of regripping is having a high-quality solvent. With that in mind, this brand includes a high-quality solvent that is non-toxic, non-flammable, and squirts out of a convenient small spout for easy use. Alongside this, the best benefit is that it smells like citrus.

Cost and Value

As we discuss cost and value for this item, we believe that this is one of the best high-quality brands in the industry for the price. In fact, it has over 1k reviews and it is expertly designed for quality and long-lasting durability. For the fact that it even includes a vise clamp for easy removal, we see it as a valuable asset to any golfer.

2. Brampton Strips

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96
Brampton Strips
Amazon Link
Value
98
Materials
96
Durability
95
Brand
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Pack of 15 is well priced.

Convenient strip design that makes it easy to use. Effortless removal process.

Quality adhesive.

Easy to use and does not bunch up.

Cons:

Does not include re-grip tool.

Not as sticky as the competition.

As the next set of tapes on this list, we want to share a specialty brand that boats some of the best quality products when it comes to golf. This set of grip tapes is well designed and ensures that individuals will have an easy experience when placing their new tapes. Let’s talk about the Brampton Golf Grip Tape Strips and two features of this product.

Read more

Crepe Paper

So, what is crepe paper? It happens to be a specialty paper that allows for the product that is double coated to be easily removed to ensure ease and quality when regripping. Alongside this, the solvent-based tape ensures the maximum durability of the product alongside quality and frustration-free finish that ensures individuals will be able to do it in no time.

Thinking of The Future

Part of this brand's innovative design qualities is that they are also thinking about the future. The reason being is that they have designed this product with a specialty adhesive that makes it easy for a golfer to remove the tape and replace when needed without leaving excess adhesive or residue behind.

Cost and Value

Regripping strips are inexpensive as it. Therefore, we can say that this is one of the best and biggest bangs for your buck deals. Although it does not include a regripping tool like the last item, it is designed very well and for the price individuals can expect 15 regrip tapes that are designed for quality use.

3. Mueller

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.5
Mueller
Mueller tape
Amazon Link
Value
97
Materials
95
Durability
94
Brand
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$6.62
Pros:

Strong quality adhesive material.

Elastic and comfortable design that is lightweight.

Easy to remove and easy to adjust.

Offers skin protection.

Porous and sweat-resistant design that is highly comfortable.

Has quality padding to protect from blisters.

Cons:

Shorter than a pack of fifteen strips.

This next grip tape happens to be designed for quality and ensures maximum comfort and easy use during installation. Let’s talk about the Mueller Golfer’s Grip Tape and two unique features of this quality item that individuals can expect today. Designed for quality and as one large roll rather than separate pieces, it happens to be one of the best in the industry.

Read more

The Design

The design of this particular product is one large adhesive roll that individuals can cut at any point. Removing the fear of a strip is too short, an individual can cut it to their specification. With that in mind, the adhesive sticks to itself but not to hair, skin, or other items and does not leave a sticky residue behind when being used.

The Benefits

This particular product may be one of the most durable but also beneficial when it comes to regripping. The reason being is that the material is a porous and sturdy material that is also breathable. With that said, one last benefit of this item is that it also is sweat resistant and ensures better quality longevity.

Cost and Value

As we discuss price for this item, it is important to note that this is one large quality roll, not separate pieces. With that said, the product is only 1 inch by 5 yards, which is smaller than buying fifteen individuals pieces. With that said, to grip all golf clubs an individual may need to buy more than one. Overall, for the price, it is affordable buy may get expensive if you buy a pack of above four at a time compared to buying strips.

4. Dynacraft Professional

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Dynacraft Professional
Amazon Link
Value
95
Materials
94
Durability
94
Brand
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.95
Pros:

Industry standard tape for installing golf grips.

Quality design and better durability.

Applied lengthwise on the shaft and activated with a quality solvent.

Easy to use.

Cons:

Not as good as other brands.

This next product happens to be one of the best for individuals that want a quality grip designed for durability and longevity. This next grip is very durable and efficient and is known as the industry standard tape. Let’s talk about the Dynacraft Professional Double-Sided Grip Tape and two unique benefits of this specialty product.

Read more

Double Sided Stick

This product has a double-sided stick design that ensures a better quality feel and better overall durability when golfing. Alongside this, the item is easy to install because of the double-sided stick which is also safe to use for individuals and easy to remove, not leaving any residue.

The Solvent is Included

Alongside the strips, an individual can expect included in the packaging of the product a high-quality solvent. The solvent is designed to ensure better durability and long lasting stickiness on the product. Overall, the kit is well designed and ensures great stick on benefits.

Cost and Value

So, this is considered one of the pricier items on this list as far as a sticky yard roll. However, the 3.5+ star reviews make it worth the consideration. With that in mind, we recommend that individuals take into consideration buying a roll compared to buying strips. Either way, we recommend it for the benefits and overall quality design.

5. Hireko Complete

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Hireko Complete
Amazon Link
Value
94
Materials
94
Durability
95
Brand
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.95
Pros:

Quality kit with everything included.

Double sided activated strips with solvent.

Solvent comes in a handy spray bottle.

Great value for the price

Cons:

May be tricky at first to use the clamp.

This next complete set is designed to make it easy for individuals to regrip their set from the comfort of their home. Let’s talk about the benefits of the Hireko Dynacraft Complete Golf Grip Set and what individuals can expect from this quality set today.

Read more

Vinyl Shaft Clamp Included

Have you ever been trying to regrip your set just to find that it was nearly impossible because you did not have the right tools? Well, that is the case here! The vinyl shaft clamp of this product makes it easy for an individual to easily and simply protect and secure any type of shaft to make it easy to regrip. This also ensures that no strip will go bad or not stick properly.

What is Included

Other items that are included in this quality set included a non-toxic and non-flammable grip solvent which is low on odor. It comes in a four-ounce bottle designed with a pump spray that makes it easier to be able and apply the solvent to the grip. Alongside this, there are thirteen strips included which are 2” by 10” and are double-sided solvent-activated with a premium feel for a masterful finish.

Cost and Value

As we discuss cost and value we can say that this happens to be one of the best-designed kits in the industry for the overall value. The fact that it comes with everything you will need to regrip today makes it a great purchase. Alongside this, the clamp is one of the best benefits, making it easy for an individual to easily adjust and edit the work.

6. Viking Regripping Kit

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.5
Viking Regripping Kit
Amazon Link
Value
94
Materials
93
Durability
93
Brand
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$15.89
Pros:

Included quality durability and craftmanship.

Comes with a high quality solvent activator.

Removal tool shaft is included.

Comes with instructions.

Double sided grip tapes.

Cons:

The tape activator may leak if not careful.

This next product happens to be one of the best in the industry because of the overall quality of the brand and the solvent of the grip tape kit. Let’s talk about the professional quality complete regripping kit from Viking Golf. Here are two unique features of this item.

Read more

13 Double Coated

What makes this brand one of the best is their dedication to quality and simplicity. This kit includes 13 double coated strips that are designed for quality and ensured to last the test of time. Alongside this, the grip is very durable and sticks really well to the surface of the club as well as each other.

Instructions Included

One of the many benefits of this quality product is that it comes with instructions. Yes, an individual can easily achieve their desired result when removing the previous tape and adding the new one thanks to the easy to understand and easy to read instructions of this product.

Cost and Value

As we discuss cost and value for this product we believe that it is a quality kit designed to make the process easy. With this item, an individual can easily tape pride in their golf game and become a master at regripping their clubs. With everything included to succeed, we think this is a quality set worth taking into consideration.

7. Club Repair Yard Roll

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.3
Club Repair Yard Roll
Amazon Link
Value
92
Materials
90
Durability
90
Brand
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.94
Pros:

Double sided quality adhesive.

New white finish.

New design is very durable.

Can be cut to measure.

Cons:

Tough to separate the backing from the tape.

This next item happens to be the latest and newest edition from this particular brand. The Club Repair Golf Grip Yard Roll is a new and improved tape that ensures comfort, durability. And quality adhesive benefits on every club. Let’s talk about two features of this product that individuals can expect.

Read more

Double Sided

This particular tape actually comes with a double adhesive that is supremely sticky. Therefore, individuals should be careful when using it. However, we can say that it ensures that your golf clubs will be gripped with a premier quality adhesive and double-sided tape.

New Design

The new design of this product ensures more durability and better-quality comfort when using any club. Alongside this, individuals should expect the product to last a long time and give golfers an enhanced feeling of comfort and security.

Cost and Value

As we discuss cost and value for this product, we can say that it is well designed for the price. The fact that it comes in a large roll allows individuals to choose the exact amount that they would like to use, making it easier to regrip items consistently. With that in mind, the overall price as well but it does come with a shipping and handling cost and no regripping tool.

8. Intertape 591 Premium

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.8
Intertape 591 Premium
Amazon Link
Value
90
Materials
89
Durability
89
Brand
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$23.69
Pros:

Specialty grip tape designed for quality.

36 yards and 2 inches wide.

Can be cut to measure.

Thicker so you use less.

Double sided adhesive coating is very durable.

Thicker tape with quick release crepe liner.

Cons:

Not too many reviews online.

More pricey than most.

We are coming close to the end of our list and we want to share another product that is worth the consideration of our readers. This is the Intertape 591 Premium Double Sided Golf Grip and much like a roll, it is well designed and can be cut to measure. Here are two quality features of this product that individuals can expect today.

Read more

Double Sided Solvent Based

This product has a double-sided design with a quick release crepe paper liner that makes it easy to remove. With that in mind, the design ensures better grip and durability when using the product. Overall, we can say that the double-sided solvent is very durable and designed to last a long time.

Thicker Tape

This product actually happens to have a thicker tape design than most. Meaning, an individual does not need to go over the tape repeatedly to get good cushioning, which allows for the product to last longer than most. With that in mind, the thicker tape gives a better-cushioned feeling when using the club.

Cost and Value

As we discuss cost and value for this item, we can say that this happens to be one of the best products in the industry for the design and the overall quality of the tape. In fact, it has close to five-star reviews and it has been touted as having a quality cushioned feel that individuals only use on specialty clubs. With that in mind, the price is well above most on the list but it is because it is considered a specialty grip tape.

9. Shurtape 2”

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.3
Shurtape 2”
Amazon Link
Value
89
Materials
87
Durability
86
Brand
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$58.44
Pros:

Quality double coated design.

Durable and long lasting.Easy to install.

Cushioned tape design.

Wrinkle free for easy adhesion.

Cons:

Does not include adhesive.

This next product on this list is much like the last, it is specially designed for quality grip and known to be one of the best for specialty clubs. This is the Shurtape 2” Golf Tape and here are two quality features that individuals can expect from this quality item.

Read more

Double Coated Quality

What can one expect from such a specialty brand? Well, to start the overall quality of this item included a double coated grip that is one of the finest and most well-designed grips in the industry. Although the solvent is not included and needs to be purchased separately, the grip of this item makes it well worth the experience and the durability.

The Quality

The overall quality of this item includes superior adhesion to any surface ranging from titanium to steel and graphite. With that in mind, the superior quality of the adhesive ensures that it will be wrinkle-resistant even on slip on grips. The liner is designed to offer maximum comfort and durability when applying and installing the grip.

Cost and Value

As we discuss cost and value, we can say that this happens to be one of the most durable products. Now, it is designed for quality, but it does not include a solvent which can bring up the cost of the overall item. With that in mind, if you are wanting a quality double adhesive item, we highly recommend this golf tape for individuals that want a seamless and effortless experience.

10. GolfWorks Double-Sided

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.8
GolfWorks Double-Sided
Amazon Link
Value
87
Materials
86
Durability
86
Brand
84
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$13.90
Pros:

Industry standard tape for installing slip-on rubber and other grips.

Sticky on both sides.

Well designed.

Quality brand.

Cons:

No reviews online.

This next item, the last one on the list, happens to be one of the best quality grips in the industry for individuals that want quality and reassurance in one simple packaged design. This grip has a double-sided durability that ensures maximum stick.

Read more

For All Grips

This particular item is specially designed for slip-on rubber, synthetic, or leather grips and makes it easy for individuals to use it and not get any wrinkle effects when applying the grip. With that said, it is very durable and will last a long time.

The Stickiness

Part of what makes this item as durable as it is is the stickiness. Overall, the product has a quality stick and is activated by the solvent that is high quality. For the fact that it is a 48mm by 18yd roll we can say that it makes it easy to cut to any specific size. With that in mind, this is a benefit that makes it well worth it.

Cost and Value

As we discuss cost and value for this product, we can say that it is worth the price for the fact that it comes in a roll that can be easily cut. There are no specific differences between this product and many others as far as the description. With that said, it does not have any reviews online but it is designed for quality overall.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Value

we take into consideration, the overall quality of the product is crucial to ensuring that the item is well designed and produces the results that individuals are looking for. To ensure the quality we tend to look at many different factors, which are detailed below. These factors create the overall quality of the brand as well as the item. With that in mind, let’s move onto factor number one, one of the most important criteria.

Materials

The material composition of the grip tape is one important aspect that we investigated when selecting our top ten products. The reason being is that the overall material will be able to really tell a lot about the product as well as the design and how well it will work. When it comes to tape, we can ensure that all of the ones that we have selected have a specifically designed double-stick feature and material composition to ensure the best results for the individual when they are using the product. As part of the material composition, we found many different benefits from going with these particular brands.

Brand

Many brands tend to use a material that is highly sticky but will not stick to hair, clothing, or skin. With that, another important aspect that we took into consideration when it comes to material quality is that brands use odor-less, non-chemical, and non-flammable solvents and sticky residue on the tape to ensure that the product is safe to use. Which takes us to another crucial criterion that we thought about when it comes to golf grip tapes.

Durability

What is the solvent of a golf grip tape set? Well, the solvent chemical is a specifically formulated chemical that you place on the tip, before applying the tape to ensure that the grip will stick on properly. With that in mind, the solvent is one of the most crucial factors when it comes to grip tape. We took different brands and compared them and found that the chemical solution for most solvents is the same. We are unaware of the specific chemical compound but all brands tout that their solution is hazard-free, non-flammable, and odor-free. Now, there will be unique specialty brands that will even include a solvent that is actually citrus-scented, which is somewhat of an extra perk.

Side Note – It is important to note that not all of the brands above come with the solvent. We have shared a couple of brands where the solvent had to be bought separately.
As a last note to this criteria, one important factor that we considered is the size, amount, and the design of the bottle. Some brands will go as far as including a small spray bottle as part of the purchase to make it easy for individuals to be able and apply the solvent.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Brand
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Golf Grips Are Necessary

Helping adjust your grip can help your game tremendously.

Replace your grip

You should be replacing your golf grip ever 6 months to ensure that your grip is good and sturdy.

Other Factors to Consider

Bottom Line

we want to share first why golf grip tapes are crucial to the golf club as well as the individual. You see, if your club does not have a well-designed grip, then your golf practice will suffer greatly. A well-designed grip ensures that you are getting the best results when it comes to the game as well as the best value when holding the club. In fact, we have talked all about golf grips before and some of the best ones to pick from.

However, golf grip tapes are a bit different. The reason being is that the grip tape is what goes under the grip to ensure that the grip stays firm and sturdy. The general rule of thumb is to replace your golf grips every six months if you are playing three to four times per week. A golf grip tape is part of the replacing process. A great golf grip tape has to have many different properties that make it a well-designed item, which we will talk about in our Criteria section of our article.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Do I have to remove the old tape?

a:

As the first primary and most crucial question that individuals are asking, the answer is yes! Always yes! It is crucial to remove the old tape from old golf shafts and grips. The reason being is that the old tape will continue to ruin the new tape and cause a lot of irritation and discomfort for the grip. Other than that, the new tape will not function properly if the old tape is not removed, so always a yes!

q: How do I clean the shaft after removing the tape?

a:

As the second most frequently asked question, we can say that cleaning a shaft is very important when it comes to removing the tape. Now, to successfully clean the residue from old grip tape, individuals have mentioned using mineral spirits. With mineral spirits, individuals are guaranteed that the residue will come off clean and effortlessly.

q: How long does it take for the glue to dry before being able to play?

a:

This question normally depends on the solvent itself. However, the most common answer is waiting 2-4 hours before reusing the golf club to ensure that the product is dry and the grip is sturdy.

q: How long are the tape strips?

a:

So, if you are buying individual tape strips, the most common answer is between 9”-12”. With that said, we highly recommend reading the description from each individual supplier to ensure you are getting enough grip for your golf clubs.