to top 10 table

Best Golf Books Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated Sep 17, 2019

In the golf industry, there have been many that have come and have gone. In that process, they have left their mark on an industry that reflects now on some of the greatest golfers of all time. Whether they did so by being inducted into the Golf Hall of Fame or leaving books for all to get to know their story and lessons, we are glad that they have shared their experiences with us all. With that in mind, we want to share the top ten best golf books that an individual can buy today. These books hold an overwhelming amount of knowledge, charisma, fun, and of course, a bit of scandal.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 12 hrs of research

icon
Ben Hogan’s Five Lessons
97.3/100 our score
Value
99
Brand
97
Materials
97
Connectivity
96
Ben Hogan’s Five Lessons
Why is it better?

Quality book.

Written by a world renowened author.

Learn the key important elements of golf.

Print is clear and easy to read.

Different formats available.

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Ben Hogan’s Five Lessons
Test Winner: Ben Hogan’s Five Lessons
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
20
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
400
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
12
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
40
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Value Brand Materials Connectivity By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.3
Value
99 %
Brand
97 %
Materials
97 %
Connectivity
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.09.19)
Amazon Link
$10.06
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.5
Value
98 %
Brand
95 %
Materials
95 %
Connectivity
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.09.19)
Amazon Link
$6.86
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.3
Value
97 %
Brand
94 %
Materials
94 %
Connectivity
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.09.19)
Amazon Link
$12.84
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.5
Value
96 %
Brand
93 %
Materials
94 %
Connectivity
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.09.19)
Amazon Link
$14.11
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.5
Value
95 %
Brand
92 %
Materials
93 %
Connectivity
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.09.19)
Amazon Link
$14.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Value
94 %
Brand
92 %
Materials
92 %
Connectivity
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.09.19)
Amazon Link
$12.87
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Value
93 %
Brand
91 %
Materials
91 %
Connectivity
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.09.19)
Amazon Link
$9.28
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Value
92 %
Brand
90 %
Materials
90 %
Connectivity
87 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.09.19)
Amazon Link
$16.90
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.3
Value
91 %
Brand
89 %
Materials
87 %
Connectivity
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.09.19)
Amazon Link
$7.25
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.3
Value
90 %
Brand
87 %
Materials
86 %
Connectivity
86 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (19.09.19)
Amazon Link
$14.68

Top 10 Picks

1. Ben Hogan’s Five Lessons

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.3
Ben Hogan’s Five Lessons
Amazon Link
Value
99
Brand
97
Materials
97
Connectivity
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.06
Pros:

Quality book.

Written by a world renowened author.

Learn the key important elements of golf.

Print is clear and easy to read.

Different formats available.

Cons:

Individuals have mentioned this book does not talk about grip.

When it comes to phenomenal golfers that have long been known as world-renowned, Ben Hogan rings a bell. Known for his striking performance and masterful playing skills, this golfer is showing us and guiding us through his five golf lessons. This book, Ben Hogan’s Five Lessons: Modern Fundamentals of Golf showcases the five best lessons from this masterful golfer. Here are two things to consider about this book.

Read more

Outlining The Building Blocks

This book intentionally outlines the building blocks for an individual to successfully and organically win golf. With that said, Ben Hogan publicises and shares with us, the readers, the five lessons that have taught him what the game of golf requires from the player. With patience, persistence, and practice, and this book, an individual can become another great golfer.

Illustrated Fully

When it comes to books that teach, it is somewhat difficult to get the message fully across to an audience or reader on words alone. With that in mind, this book is filled with fully drawn illustrations. Not only that, but the book showcases different diagrams to improve an individuals hit, swing, stance and other important aspects of golf.

Cost and Value

As we take cost and value into consideration for this book, we can say that this is one of the best books in the industry for individuals that are not only fans of golf but want to masterfully learn and play the game. Other than that, who would not want Ben Hogan’s five key lessons, the lessons he mastered to become one of the worlds greatest golfers? As a gift, we highly recommend it!

2. The Match

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.5
The Match
Amazon Link
Value
98
Brand
95
Materials
95
Connectivity
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$6.86
Pros:

Quality book.

Written for the avid golfer.

Fans of these golfers will love this book.

Great gift idea.

Cons:

Individuals have mentioned that the book does not capture an individual in the beginning.

As one of the best golf books of all time, in fact, a national bestseller, this is the book that everyone needs to read if they are looking for an exciting edge of your seat book in the game of golf. Written by Mark Frost, he weaves into the story of a casual bet between two wealthy men that eventually became an all-out rivalry against newcomers Harvie Ward and Ken Venturi. Here are two characteristics of this particular book, The Match: The Day The Game of Golf Changed Forever.

Read more

Power and Emotional

This particular book describes the complete recollections of the private game played by four top golfers of all time. These golfers are Ben Hogan, Byron Nelson, Harvie Ward and Ken Venturi. The book is a gripping of the seat story of how the game of golf would forever be looked at in a different light.

Great Gift

If you know someone that happens to be an avid reader and fan of golf, this is the book for him or her. The book is not only created as one of the best books of all time in the genre of sports, it is a fun recollection of one of the most memorable moments in the game of golf, ever.

Cost And Value

As we take cost and value into consideration for this particular book, we can say that it is one of the best books when it comes to storytelling and imagery. The book is unique, intriguing, and a fun to read for everyone. With three different versions to consider, individuals can choose between hardcover, paperback, and kindle!

3. Harvey Penick’s Little Red Book

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.3
Harvey Penick’s Little Red Book
Amazon Link
Value
97
Brand
94
Materials
94
Connectivity
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$12.84
Pros:

Timeless book.

Written originally by one of the greatest golfers.

Plenty of new information and techniques.

Twentieth century and updated edition.

Cons:

Individuals have mentioned that the book has plenty of stories but lack instructions.

Known as one of the greatest golf books of all time, this newly remasted addition brings it into the twenty-first century with a new introduction from a prominent lifetime golfer, plenty of new illustrations, and new stories that will entice you into the game of golf even more. For the twentieth anniversary edition, this book is known as one of the best and hailed by the New York Times. Let’s talk about Harvey Penick’s Little Red Book: Lessons and Teachings From A Lifetime In Golf.

Read more

Harvey Penick

This book is written by the legendary Harvey Penick, one of the worlds greatest golfers. In fact, Sports Illustrated magazine named him the “Socrates of the golf world” for his insight into golfing and unique stance on the game.

Named After His Red Book

This particular book has many different stories, recollections, and nuggets of advice that make it a golfers dream book. The book is named after Harvey Penick’s red notebook, which he kept with himself with plenty of advice, practical wisdom and unique direct approaches towards the game of golf.

Cost And Value

When it comes to cost and value, individuals will find this book to be useful for years to come. This is not a one-time read kind of book, this book is designed to be read over and over again and to always find useful information within the pages of this great and timeless edition.

4. Golf Is Not A Game of Perfect

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.5
Golf Is Not A Game of Perfect
Amazon Link
Value
96
Brand
93
Materials
94
Connectivity
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.11
Pros:

Quality book with plenty of tools and advice.

Fun and easy read.

Written by expert psychologist.

Plenty of positive reviews.

Cons:

Individuals have mentioned that much of the book is all about thinking positively.

If you are seeking a different kind of golf book, more of a mental and perspective stance on the game of golf, this is the book for you. Written by famed psychologist and performance consultant, Dr. Bob Rotella talks about the importance of having the right mental frame and mindset when it comes to the game of golf. Let’s talk about Golf Is Not A Game of Perfect and what individuals can expect.

Read more

Unique Perspective

Unlike many golf books which focus on technique and physical practice, this unique golf book focuses more on the mental stance that an individual needs to succeed in the game of golf. With that said, this particular book shares many stories from Bob’s clients and how he uses his mind-shattering techniques to preparer golfers and give them a unique perspective on the game.

The Style

This particular book, although focuses much of it’s dynamic on the mental aspect of the game, individuals can expect it to be very conversational. The book, in fact, is written in a very friendly perspective with a dynamic blend of lessons and conversation. With this book, individuals can expect to improve their game.

Cost And Value

As we take cost and value into consideration for this particular book, we can say that this is one of the best books when it comes to quality mental advice on the game of the golf. With that said, the book is not filled with heavy jargon and indirect metaphors, it is a simple read that helps individuals get into the right frame of mind. With three versions to choose from, we highly recommend it.

5. The A Swing

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.5
The A Swing
Amazon Link
Value
95
Brand
92
Materials
93
Connectivity
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.99
Pros:

Different views on the game of golf.

Fun read for individuals.

Easy read.

Different formats available.

Trusted and tested information.

Cons:

Individuals have mentioned that it is such a different style of swinging it can be hard to master.

If you are seeking the best advice from one of the worlds greatest golf instructors, we are eager to share this quality book. Feel as if you are being taught personally by David Leadbetter in this mind-altering and golf-enhancing book, The A Swing: The Alternative Approach To Great Golf. Let’s talk about two important points of this particular book and what it is about.

Read more

What It Is For

This particular book is for golfers that want to learn and feel as if they are being taught by one of the greatest industry professionals. In fact, the book helps individuals identify their areas of strength and weakness as well as develop a consistent and repetitive motion. With this, individuals can easily improve their accuracy and distance.

Evolution of Swing Theories

This particular book is the first of a decade for this writer and individuals can expect it to be filled with ten years of useful information and different theories when it comes to perfect your golf swing. The book is designed to enhance individuals swing and guide the audience into a better way of golfing.

Cost And Value

As we discuss cost and value for this particular book we can say that individuals will appreciate the design of the book as well as the information in it. As a great starter book for golfers wanting to learn new techniques and theories from a masterful instructor, we highly recommend it. If you know someone that is showing an interest in golf, then this is the book to gift.

6. A Life Well Played

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
A Life Well Played
Amazon Link
Value
94
Brand
92
Materials
92
Connectivity
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$12.87
Pros:

Quality and fun everyday read.

Calming and relaxing.

Insightful look into the life of arnold palmer.

Fun and lighthearted.

Cons:

Individuals have mentioned that it has a lot of recollections but not too many personal stories.

As one of the greatest golfers of all time, Arnold Palmer made himself known as both a family man, a man of the people and golf enthusiasts with world-renowned titles. WIth that in mind, his book A Life Well Played: My Stories recollects on his memories, his life, giving back, and of course, the game of golf. With that said, here are two important points to consider.

Read more

Reflect On His Life

Arnold Palmer was not just one of the greatest golfers of all time, he was a humbler and happy individual known for sharing his insight and joy with others. WIth that in mind, individuals can use this book to get an insightful look at the life of Arnold Palmer and what it was like for him every day. With this book, Palmer takes different experiences and shared them with readers in the form of insightful knowledge and advice.

Nothing Controversial / Light Hearted Book

This particular book was released only a couple of weeks before the passing of this famed golfer. However, it is known as one of the most lighthearted and beloved sports books of all time. It shared family insights, his daily life, and what it means to be the Gold Standard in golf. Arnold Palmer is respectfully known as one of the greatest players in the game of golf, and this book shares that level of wisdom and love.

Cost And Value

As we discuss cost and value for this particular book, we can say that this is one of the greatest books of all time in golf and sports. Not only is it a fun read, it is also insightful and offers plenty of knowledge to keep individuals intrigued. For the price, we highly recommend it as a person real and a gift to any avid golfer.

7. Men In Green

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Men In Green
Amazon Link
Value
93
Brand
91
Materials
91
Connectivity
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$9.28
Pros:

Fun daily read.

Inexpensive book.

Written by great author.

New York Times Bestseller

Cons:

Individuals have mentioned that some of the drama has turned them off of their favorite golfer.

This next book has been said to be one of the greatest books of all time. Men In Green is an insightful look into the lives of some of golf’s greatest individuals. This instant New York Times bestseller is a warm welcome into the world of golf from the minds of the of the greatest golfers.

Read more

Unique Writing

This book is not just a comical and unique look into the game of golf. It is a surprisingly candid tale of the lives of players, caddies, assistant, wives, and everyone in between. Within the pages of this book, individuals will find scandals, romances, love, friendships, and everything in between.

Tales from Bamberger

This book is written by one of the best writers of the modern era. Michael Bamberger shows us a different side of golf, told with many funny stories and unique tales. In this particular book, Michael Bamberger re-creates the PGA tour with different tales of what really went on the course and out of the course.

Cost And Value

This unique book from 2016 is one of the best books an individual can buy today. The cost and value for this particular book are around the same for many other books around this size. With that said, the book is worth a read for anyone looking for a bit of drama and intrigue in the game of golf.

8. Tiger Woods

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Tiger Woods
Amazon Link
Value
92
Brand
90
Materials
90
Connectivity
87
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$16.90
Pros:

Insightful look into the life of Tiger.

Fun read for adults.

Learn about his life, past, and now.

Plenty of interviews from friends and family.

Cons:

Individuals have mentioned that it is not a distinctive and respectful look at his life, more of a scandalous book with too much detail.

As the next book on this list, we are eager to share one of the most power reads into one of the greatest golfers of all time. With that said, he is also known as one of the most scandalous golfers with plenty of intrigue about him. If you are a fan of Tiger Woods or not a fan of Tiger Woods, this is the book you will want to read.

Read more

Plenty of Scandal

This book is not only an insightful look into the golfing career of this famed golfer, once worth $100 Million Dollars annually. This book is a scandalous recounter of his childhood, his life, his marriage, and what really happened that caused his career to spiral out of control. With that in mind, the book is intriguing from page one all the way to the end.

Plenty of Interviews

To back up much of the discoveries that this author has made, the book is not only filled with recounts and stories, it is filled with interviews of those who were closest to Tiger. The book has interviews with friends, family members, teachers, coaches, business associates, and ever tour pro’s that once worked with Tiger.

Cost And Value

As we take cost and value into consideration for this book we can say that this may be one of the greatest books of all time when it comes to scandals in the golf community. Not only that, but this book is a clear and insightful look at who Tiger Woods was and what caused his demise. In either case, he is back on top, and individuals will find this book to not only be intriguing but also powerful.

9. Golf For Dummies

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.3
Golf For Dummies
Amazon Link
Value
91
Brand
89
Materials
87
Connectivity
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$7.25
Pros:

Learn different terms.

Learn different stances and swings.

Ideal book for beginners.

Great gift for amateur golfers.

Fun book to read.

Cons:

Only for novice golfers.

Lacks a lot of information.

This next book may be one of the best books for individuals that want to learn the game of golf for scratch. This series has been known as the perfect series with plenty of information to inform readers on a specific topic. We are talking about Golf For Dummies. Here are two points to consider about this book.

Read more

What You May Learn

This book is the perfect book for individuals starting in the game of golf. The book teaches an individual how to master their grip, stance, and achieve the ideal swing. Not only that, but the book talks about the ideal swings for specific gear, how to pick the perfect gear, and what the many different terms in the game of golf means. With that said, the book offers plenty of information to its users.

Perfect Gift For Newbies

This particular book may be the first book that any starting golfer needs to read. This book is ideal for the amateur that wants to learn the most basic terms, ideas, and different golf techniques. With that said, this book is also a great gift to any newbie in the family that wants to learn how to golf.

Cost And Value

As we discuss cost and value for this book we can say that this is, in fact, the most inexpensive book on this list. The book is well-priced and serves the ideal purpose of giving individuals plenty of advice in the game of golf, what to do, and how to begin. For the price, we can see why it is highly touted.

10. Caddyshack

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.3
Caddyshack
Amazon Link
Value
90
Brand
87
Materials
86
Connectivity
86
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.68
Pros:

Fun read.

Easy read.

Insightful look at the making of the movie.

Interesting storyline.

Cons:

The book is more about the lives of the individuals in the movie, not the movie itself.

This particular book is not only an insightful look at the movie but will recollect some of the most memorable times of one of the most iconic movies in the film. Caddyshack: The Making of A Hollywood Cinderella Story goes behind the scenes of one of the funniest golf movies ever made. For fans of golf and fans of the movie, this is a must-have book!

Read more

Fun Read

This book is not only a unique look at the life of the movie and what made it so iconic, it is a hysterical storytelling piece of what made the movie such a fun movie to watch and make. If you love the narrative of dramatic wealthy individuals and the caddies that help them, this book is for you.

Fun Gift

This book may just be one of the best gifts to give any golfer or Caddyshack lover. The book is a fun storytelling of the pop culture classic and it's the perfect holiday stocking stuffer book to accompany with the movie.

Cost And Value

As we discuss cost and value for this particular book, we can say that this happens to be one of the most expensive books on this list due to the subject and the fame of the story. With that said, we highly recommend it as a fun gift to any golfer or fun movie lover.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Value

This may be one of the most important aspects of a quality book. Not only did we want to ensure that the book was a quality read, we wanted to make sure that it had useful information, a unique storyline, and captured the reader’s attention. The quality of the read is one of the most important aspects that we take into consideration when it comes to picking out any book. Part of this is because we want to ensure our audience does not feel they are wasting their time. As part of ensuring the best possible quality read, one aspect of our guidelines we followed thoroughly was sharing a wide variety of topics. Let’s move onto one of the most important criteria that we took into consideration.

Brand

When it comes to picking out the top ten best golf books of all time, one aspect we took into heavy thought was the author. Not only did we want to make sure that the author had experience, but also had credibility. WIth that said, we did not want to be selective enough to share only golfers that have written a book, we wanted to share different golf books from individuals that may have different backgrounds. Whether it was a non-fiction writer, a golfer, or a psychologist, the author became part of our process when picking the top ten best golf books.

Materials

As one of the most important criteria, the topic was a crucial part of whether or not the book would make it onto this list. With that in mind, we wanted to make sure we shared a wide variety of topics because we wanted to give a large selection of options. If not, and we only focused on certain golf books, it would be a whole different ballgame. Therefore, we wanted to share both nonfiction and fiction, fun stories and scandalous stories, tips and how-tos, and a lot more. The topic is as equally important as the individual writing it. So, another important aspect that we took into consideration when it came to picking the top ten best golf books was the author.

Connectivity

As another one of the most important criteria to take into consideration, nothing tells you if a product is worthwhile more than the reviews. Therefore, one aspect that we focused our attention on was the reviews. First, we wanted to make sure that the book had plenty of positive reviews, which we found most have at least 500+, some even in the thousands. The second aspect that we took into consideration is how interesting individuals found the book to be. With that, we found that most books on this list are highly touted and considered some of the best in the industry. But, we did not only want to focus on famed books, we wanted to share books that may not have made it on the New York Times Best Seller list but still have enough positive reviews and rapport with readers. With that said, let’s move onto another criterion that is as equally important as the ones above.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Brand
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Connectivity
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Gift idea's?

These books make a great gift for those who are golf enthusiasts & looking to know more about the history and/or how to play better.

Children interested in golf?

If you children are of reading age this might be a good idea to give to them, if they're showing interest in golf!

Other Factors to Consider

Bottom Line

One would think it may be pointless to have criteria to evaluate the best books. However, without our strict guidelines, we would not be able to share the top ten products. Part of the reason why we share our guidelines with our audience is not only so they can get to know our process, but also conduct research themselves if they want too.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Is the book great for teens?

a:

As the first question on this list, we can see why individuals would ask this question. If your kid is interested in golf and they want to begin to learn different strategies and techniques, then the best books to gift are books that are about different techniques and learning golf. With that said, if your teenager is more interested about the life of different golfers, then it is best to read the description of the book to tell whether or not it is a great book for teens to read.

q: Is the book for amateurs or experts?

a:

This really all depends on the book an individual is looking for. We can say that a book such as Harvey Penick’s Little Red Book or Golf For Dummies is perfect for amateurs, while other books such as the life of Arnold Palmer may be best for experts. With that said, it is important to read the description of the book before buying it to see whether or not your area at that level of experience when it comes to golf.

q: Is the book a simple read?

a:

This question is all determined by the individual. Whether you want a lighthearted book or a heavy book with plenty of techniques and instructions, we can say that simple read books tend to be more instruction based than history based.

q: Is the book a coffee table book?

a:

As the last most frequently asked question, none of the books above are coffee table books except for a select few. Most coffee table books tend to be picturesque and have plenty of images.