to top 10 table

Best Forged Irons Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated Nov 08, 2019

In the game of golf, the wrong move can cost you dearly. With that in mind, in the game of golf, using the wrong club can also cost you dearly. Therefore, it was our primary concern to talk about the top ten best-forged irons so individuals can enhance their quality swing and performance. Now, forged irons are known as one of the best designs in the industry, therefore, there should be no surprise that they are also rather costly. It is our dedication to sharing the top of the line products and so, we are eager to bring you this top ten list today.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 11 hrs of research

icon
Mizuno JPX
98/100 our score
Value
99
Brand
98
Materials
98
Durability
97
Mizuno JPX
Why is it better?

Quality brand with years of experience.

Two different flex’s to choose from.

Engineered for a solid performance quality.

Multi-thickness face for better distance.

Max undercut design.

Virtually no negative reviews.

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Mizuno JPX
Test Winner: Mizuno JPX
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
17
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
3000
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
11
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
50
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Value Brand Materials Durability By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
Value
99 %
Brand
98 %
Materials
98 %
Durability
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.11.19)
Amazon Link
$699.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Value
98 %
Brand
97 %
Materials
97 %
Durability
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.11.19)
Amazon Link
$1,019.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.3
Value
97 %
Brand
97 %
Materials
96 %
Durability
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.11.19)
Amazon Link
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.5
Value
96 %
Brand
96 %
Materials
95 %
Durability
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.11.19)
Amazon Link
$70.96
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.3
Value
95 %
Brand
94 %
Materials
95 %
Durability
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.11.19)
Amazon Link
$219.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Value
94 %
Brand
93 %
Materials
93 %
Durability
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.11.19)
Amazon Link
$85.84
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Value
93 %
Brand
92 %
Materials
92 %
Durability
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.11.19)
Amazon Link
$699.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.5
Value
92 %
Brand
92 %
Materials
91 %
Durability
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.11.19)
Amazon Link
$618.11
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.5
Value
90 %
Brand
90 %
Materials
91 %
Durability
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.11.19)
Amazon Link
$248.95
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.3
Value
89 %
Brand
87 %
Materials
87 %
Durability
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (13.11.19)
Amazon Link
$267.99

Top 10 Picks

1. Mizuno JPX

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
Mizuno JPX
Amazon Link
Value
99
Brand
98
Materials
98
Durability
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$699.99
Pros:

Quality brand with years of experience.

Two different flex’s to choose from.

Engineered for a solid performance quality.

Multi-thickness face for better distance.

Max undercut design.

Virtually no negative reviews.

Cons:

Hard to come by this particular club and has to be bought from specific sellers.

When it comes to a well designed Mizuno forged iron, we are eager to share the very first one the list. This particular iron is designed from a steel shaft material and has a stiff flex. Let’s talk about the Mizuno Golf JOX-EZ Forged Club Iron and two unique quality features of this particular item.

Read more

Multi-Thickness Face

There are only a few features that when enhanced can cause the quality of a golf club to go up. With this particular club, one of those features is a multi-thickness face design. This design enhanced the distance the ball will carry when hit for maximum effort and power. With that in mind, this design is a traditional design that is intended to enhance an individual’s swing and style.

The Feeling

When it comes to quality, you can really tell how well designed a product is based off on the feeling of the item when in use. When it comes to this particular club we can say that t is engineered for a solid and comfortable feel upon impact which can ensure a better swing and enhanced performance for the golfer.

Cost And Value

When it comes to cost and value for this item, we can say that this happens to be one of the best qualities designed clubs in the industry when it comes to being forged. Alongside this, the forged club is designed for comfort and engineered for better performance. With that said, this brand is also one of the best brands in the industry and a leader in quality clubs.

2. Callaway Apex CF16

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97
Callaway Apex CF16
Amazon Link
Value
98
Brand
97
Materials
97
Durability
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$1,019.99
Pros:

Designed for quality assurance from a specialty brand.

Better distance with a forged iorn.

Different shaft material options which is rare.

Multi-piece construction quality.

Extremely soft feel from an advanced forging brand.

Extremely precise forging.

Cons:

Can be quite costly per item.

Now that we have shared the first club, we want to introduce a quality brand known for superior quality and ingenuity. This brand is known as the Mercedes of the Golf world and we are eager to talk about this particular forged iron. Let’s talk about the Callaway Men’s Apex CF16 Individual Iron and the two features individuals can expect from this item.

Read more

The Material Quality

One of our favorite design benefits of this particular iron by Callaway is the material of the shaft. In fact, this brand offers individuals two available material options when it comes to the shaft. The options are graphite or steel. With that said, they both are designed distinctively depending on the feeling and swing an individual is looking for.

Many Configurations

Alongside the above feature, this manufacturer also allows for different configuration of this forged iron. Since iron’s come in different degrees, an individual can choose a 3-0, an AW, PW, or an SW. With that in mind, the individual also has the ability to choose their flex, regular, stiff, or senior. This level of options is only found among premium brands that want to appeal to all types of golfers.

Cost and Value

As we discuss cost and value into consideration for this item, we can say that this happens to be one of the best brands that an individual can buy from today. With that said, an individual can iron can be somewhat costly, and it can get heavily expensive if you want to collect the whole set from a particular maker. With that in mind, we can ensure that this is one of the best quality irons in the industry.

3. Mizuno JPX EZ

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.3
Mizuno JPX EZ
Amazon Link
Value
97
Brand
97
Materials
96
Durability
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Quality designed club for better performance and quality.

Design with two unique hand orientations.

Triple cut sole design is softly beveled.

Black ni finish is anti-glare and sleek.

Quality brand ensuring maximum performance.

Cons:

One of the most costly irons on the list.

Time to bring it back to the first brand on this list, except this is actually a quality set of forged irons. We are eager to share the quality Mizuno JPX EZ Forged Irons Set, designed for quality in mind by a masterful brand that understands what golfers are looking for. With different options available, let’s take a look at two unique features of this manufacturer.

Read more

Power Frame Design

When it comes to exclusive design qualities, this is the brand to get. This brand offers this particular forged iron set with a strategically placed weight on the four corner of the cavity to ensure maximum forgiveness when swinging. This ensures a better quality swing and a better quality design.

Different Options

This brand offers the design of this iron in different options. For instance, an individual can choose the iron with a hand orientation left or right and a flex of regular or stiff. However, what stays the same is the quality steel true temper XP 95 material shaft which is ensured for quality, performance, and maximum forgiveness.

Cost And Value

As we discuss cost and value for this item, we can say that this brand is designed with expert craftsmanship and material quality. Alongside this, individuals can expect this brand to offer strategically design sections of the club for better performance. With that said, this particular item is one of the most costly. However, when you want quality performance, this golf club is it.

4. Cobra Fly Z+

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.5
Cobra Fly Z+
Amazon Link
Value
96
Brand
96
Materials
95
Durability
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$70.96
Pros:

Optimum tuning port design with a centered heel-to-toe function.

Soft carbon steel is softer than other materials.

Ensures maximum progression and trajectory.

Designed for quality performance.

For professional golfers.

Cons:

Costly set of irons.

Now that we have shared one of the best iron’s on the list, we want to raise the bar in more ways than one. This next forged iron is the Cobra Men’s Fly Z+ Iron Set for right-handers. It is designed from top of the line premium materials and ensures to offer some of the best progressive design elements in the game of golf. Here are two unique points to consider about this item.

Read more

The Material Quality

When it comes to golf club sets, individuals can expect them to the range when it comes to material quality and craftsmanship. With this particular club the shaft material is one of the best in the industry. In fact, the shaft of this club is designed from a soft carbon steel material that ensures better quality swings than stainless steel. Other than that, it is softer and offers better lightweight functionality.

The Set Design

This brand pays close attention when it comes to the detail quality of an item. With that said, they offer 3-PW and they are all designed for optimal use and trajectory. With that in mind, this set is specifically optimized to deliver quality experience alongside a better trajectory and performance.

Cost And Value

As we take cost and value into consideration for this set, this happens to be even more costly than the last one on the list. However, when the maximum value is the focus of the brand and they design everything with attention to detail and masterful craftsmanship, we are okay with paying the price for the quality. With that in mind, we highly recommend this set for design and functionality.

5. TaylorMade P790

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.3
TaylorMade P790
Amazon Link
Value
95
Brand
94
Materials
95
Durability
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$219.99
Pros:

Designed for comfort and produces a quality swing.

Includes minimalistic cosmetic designs for a more simple and minimal appeal.

High strength and forged carbon steel.

Trusted brand with years of experience.

Speed Foam has a groundbreak distance design.

Cons:

Not too many reviews online.

One of the most expensive sets of today.

Now that we are on the middle of this list, we want to share a quality set designed by what may be the most notable and highly praised golf brand in the industry for their quality craftsmanship and design. This next set of irons is specifically made for professionals and ensures maximum quality when it comes to their design. This is the TaylorMade Golf 2018 P790 Men’s Iron Set and here are two unique features of this set.

Read more

Plenty of Options

A brand such as this only designs their products with top of the line materials. With that in mind, we can say that they also offer their products with plenty of different available options. For example, an individual can choose between two different hand orientations, two different shaft materials, and four different flex’s. With that said, this is what makes this brand one of the best, their dedication to supply quality.

Strategically Designed

Have you ever heard of a club having strategically placed materials to increase power, inertia, and a golfer’s swing? Well, this club has a strategically placed tungsten to increase the method in which a person swings and ensure a better quality performance. With that in mind, the brand offers a hollow construction for optimal weight and trajectory.

Cost And Value

Now that we have shared different quality golf club sets, we were highly surprised by the fact that the ones we shared earlier are actually the less expensive sets. This particular set is priced in the thousands can is considered a set for tour professionals and the seasoned golfer. Part of the price is due to the handmade quality and unique elements of the set and each individual club.

6. Callaway X

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Callaway X
Amazon Link
Value
94
Brand
93
Materials
93
Durability
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$85.84
Pros:

Plenty of different configurations available.

Items sold separately so you buy what you need.

Quality shaft material.

Trusted brand with years of experience.

Five stars.

Cons:

The shaft is made of steel so it is heavier than other irons.

Now that we have introduced the creme de la creme of the golf community, let’s talk about another quality golf iron that is designed for maximum support and a better swing. This is the Callaway Golf 2018 Men’s X Forged Utility Individual Iron and here are two unique features of this item.

Read more

The Configurations

This particular forged iron comes in a wide variety of configurations. An individual has plenty of options to choose from when it comes to shaft material and length. With that said, the flex comes in two different varieties and the configuration includes a 3-6 iron. With that said, an individual can also get this particular product as a right-hand club or left-hand club.

The Features

This particular brand is touted as being one of the best. With that said, we can say that the features of this particular item include more control and better forgiveness when it comes to the design. Alongside this, an individual can expect the item to offer better performance and forged precision design for a longer average distance.

Cost And Value

Considering separately and offers these forged irons separately, an individual can expect that collection them all can cost upwards of hundreds of dollars. With that in mind, we can say that this happens to be one of the best golf irons in the industry for design and quality. If you want a brand that knows premium qualities, we highly recommend Callaway.

7. XXIO

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
XXIO
Amazon Link
Value
93
Brand
92
Materials
92
Durability
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$699.99
Pros:

Perfectly priced for the intermediate golfer.

Lighten the overall weight.

Steel shaft is well designed.

Increased repulsion design.

Two available stiff options.

Many different hand orientations.

Cons:

Little to no reviews online.

Now that we have shared many different sets, we want to talk about a brand that happens to have no reviews online but is touted among many different websites for their quality design. Not only that, but this set is highly durable and can withstand the test of time, enhancing an individual’s performance with every swing. This is the XXIO Forged Iron Set and here are two features of this product.

Read more

The Material

When it comes to maximum quality benefits, the design of this product is one of the best in the industry. The material of this particular set is designed for a highly durable and lightweight graphite material that makes it easy for an individual to learn and use the clubs. Other than that, graphite has a high-quality design that ensures better performance for the novice golfer.

Improved Cavity Design

Who knew that a golf club set had so many different elements? This one, for instance, is designed with an improved cavity design that reduces reverberation and ensures a softer impact for the individual holder the club. With that, the ball is ensured to have a farther distance and better impact.

Cost And Value

Now that we have shared a wide variety of different forged irons sets, we can say that this set is priced at the perfect price for the intermediate golfer wanting to enhance their game and performance quality. With that said, the value for this set ensures maximum performance and quality assurance. For the price, we can say that it is well worth it and individuals will be able to tell a difference in no time.

8. Wilson Staff C300

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.5
Wilson Staff C300
Amazon Link
Value
92
Brand
92
Materials
91
Durability
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$618.11
Pros:

Different hand orientations available.

Different shaft material flex’s.

Power holes design to enhance the quality and swing.

Maximum distance with this particular set.

Well priced for the value.

Made from top of the line materials.

Cons:

Little to no information online.

We could not forget this quality brand! We want to share the Wilson Staff C300 Forged Irons set, designed for quality craftsmanship and performance in mind. This particular forged iron set offers plenty of benefits and many different configurations to choose from. With that in mind, let’s talk about this set and what individuals can expect from this quality set today.

Read more

Through Holes Strategically Positioned

When it comes to innovative designs that have changed an industry, this brand tops the charts for their expert craftsmanship and designs. For instance, this particular brand has designed these irons with through holes that are strategically placed in different areas of the club. For instance, the holes are on the toe and the sole. This design ensures a better sweet spot for greater ball distance and speed. This is innovation at its finest.

Different Options

When it comes to a brand that innovates and supplies, this is it. They have designed this particular golf club with many different options. These options include left and right-hand orientation alongside three different shaft materials. The shaft materials include graphite, stiff, and steel. With that said, the flex is also custom designed with regular, stiff, and x-stiff.

Cost and Value

As we take cost and value into consideration for this item, we can say that this happens to be one of the best-designed sets in the industry. With that said, this is also a highly touted brand and their quality craftsmanship is known among many. With that said, this set is well priced and designed to withstand the test of time.

9. Cobra King

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.5
Cobra King
Amazon Link
Value
90
Brand
90
Materials
91
Durability
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$248.95
Pros:

Technology and innovation meets beauty.

Forged stainless steel design that is highly durable.

Satin finish with wear and tear resistance.

Different options available as far as regular, stiff, and hand orientation.

Designed with an electronic sensor system.

Cons:

Little to no reviews online.

Now that we are onto the last set on the list, we want to share another quality set from the Cobra brand. Designed for expert craftsmanship and for professional players that want quality and performance, this set is also the most beautiful and highly appealing set on the list. Let’s talk about the Cobra 2018 Golf Men’s King Forged Tec Black Iron Set.

Read more

The Finish

Now, the primary reason we share this particular product is that it happens to be the most stealthy and stylish looking club design on this list. This brand has designed this item with a DBM Black Finish which is a satin black finish that can handle extreme wear and tare. Think of the Batmobile of golf clubs.

Cobra Connect

So, one particular aspect that makes this brand highly worthy of any one individual’s consideration is their innovative designs alongside masterful technology. For instance, this product includes a grip-electronic sensor which connects to any smartphone so an individual can keep track of their improvements using detailed stats that are tracked through a technology grip design. Yes! You just read that!

Cost And Value

As we take cost and value into consideration, not only is this one of the most appealing sets in the industry, it is filled with innovative technology that enhances the overall quality of the item. With that in mind, this set is ideal for individuals that want quality craftsmanship alongside masterful performance. With that said, we highly recommend this stylish and innovative set.

10. Japan WaZaki

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.3
Japan WaZaki
Amazon Link
Value
89
Brand
87
Materials
87
Durability
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$267.99
Pros:

Technology and innovation meets beauty.

Well priced for the value.

Made from top of the line materials.

Cons:

Costly set of irons.

We could not forget this quality brand, designed for quality craftsmanship and performance in mind. This particular forged iron set offers plenty of benefits and many different configurations to choose from. Let’s talk about this set and what individuals can expect from this quality set today

Read more

Through Holes Strategically Positioned

When it comes to innovative designs that have changed an industry, this brand tops the charts for their expert craftsmanship and designs. For instance, this particular brand has designed these irons with through holes that are strategically placed in different areas of the club. For instance, the holes are on the toe and the sole. This design ensures a better sweet spot for greater ball distance and speed. This is innovation at its finest.

Cost And Value

Now that we have shared a wide variety of different sets, we can say that this set is priced at the perfect price for the intermediate golfer wanting to enhance their game and performance quality. With that said, the value for this set ensures maximum performance and quality assurance. For the price, we can say that it is well worth it and individuals will be able to tell a difference in no time.

The Features

This particular brand is touted as being one of the best. With that said, we can say that the features of this particular item include more control and better forgiveness when it comes to the design. Alongside this, an individual can expect the item to offer better performance and a forged precision design for a longer average distance.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Value

The overall quality of a forged iron happens to be one of the most crucial criteria that we took into consideration. The reason being is that the quality of the iron ensures maximum quality performance for the individual. Without a properly designed iron, an individual will not be able to demonstrate and enhance their performance. Alongside this, a quality iron is built to last and offer years of experience. Now, different elements we took into consideration when it comes to quality is the design of the iron, such as the degree and the style. Other elements include the grip and the shaft, to ensure the best comfort and swing. Speaking of the shaft, let’s talk about the shaft and material.

Brand

we found the cost and value of the brand to be one of the most important aspects. Not only that, but we wanted to share a wide variety of brands alongside a different range of prices to ensure everyone from amateurs to professionals had a forged iron to choose from. With that said, this list is widely filled with a wide variety of different brands that an individual can choose from.

Materials

As one of the key criteria that we took into consideration, we found that the shaft material is one of the most important elements when it comes to forged irons as well as the game of golf. The reason being is that without a quality shaft, an individual cannot expect to perform properly. Alongside this, we can say that the shaft material also determines the quality of the brand and the manufacturer as well as the stage of the golfer’s experience. It seems the highest grade quality shafts are made from fiberglass while lower grade shafts are designed from stainless steel. With that in mind, the shaft can also determine the flex of the product, which causes a different experience for the golfer. Different flexes include senior, stiff, x-stiff, and more.

Durability

We wanted to ensure maximum durability of all of the products on this list. With that in mind, we can say that all of the forged irons we shared have been designed with value in mind and offer expert craftsmanship and design. Whether a brand designs one with simplistic style features to enhance the performance of the swing or with unique technical features to enhance the way the ball spins, all of these forged irons are designed for longevity.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Brand
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Materials
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Don't skimp on materials!

Don't skimp on the materials of the shaft you choose to play with. You may find yourself overspending and not utilizing that time and energy to learn!

Scratch resistant!

Definitely, most clubs are built for the wear and tear, however purchasing a shaft with extra protection wouldn't hurt if you're worried about scratches!

Other Factors to Consider

Bottom Line

If you are looking for a quality iron, then this list is it. Our intention was to share a wide variety of different irons and brands that also had a specific style in mind. Whether you were looking for left-handed qualities or right-handed qualities, stiff flex or senior flex, or a specific iron number, this list has them all for you. With that in mind, we can say that part of our research was made easy by taking into consideration the criteria to evaluate the best-forged irons.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What is the shaft material?

a:

As one of the key questions that individuals are taking into consideration, we can say that when it comes to golf clubs, having the right shaft material ensures better success and progression as a golfer. If you start off with the wrong shaft material, well you may be spending too much and learning too little. With that said, a large selection of the clubs we have shared with our audience on this list is made from professional golfers from premium quality materials. The most common shaft material is a fiberglass shaft, while other shafts are made from stainless steel and other material compositions.

q: Do they come with headcovers?

a:

As another one of the most important questions, maximum protection of your irons is crucial, especially when they are in a golf cart bag. With that in mind, some of the brands on this list do not include headcovers with the purchase of their irons. It is best to take into consideration what is included in the packaging and if they do not include headcovers, we recommend buying some to ensure the longevity of the item as well as durability. With that in mind, we can say that most premium brands do offer headcovers.

q: What is the flex?

a:

When it comes to the flex of a particular iron, this is all dependant on the individual’s purchase choice. This happens to be one of the most frequently asked questions because individuals want to know what flex is for a specific club. However, it is somewhat difficult to answer this considering that many brands offer a wide plethora of flex.

An individual can choose from stiff flex to senior, x-stiff and more. With that in mind, the flex can impact the way you play the sport. Therefore, it is important to note what is your ideal flex when picking out your irons.

q: Are they scratch resistant?

a:

In the game of golf there is plenty of wear and tear, so we can see how this can quickly become one of the most asked questions. When it comes to the shaft of a club, most tend to be made from a fiberglass, steel, stainless steel material. However, some shafts are designed with specialty coatings to ensure scratch resistant. With that said, there are only a select few brands on this list that have designed their shafts for scratch resistance and offer such qualities.