to top 10 table

Best Colognes for Men Reviewed & Rated for Quality

last updated Jun 29, 2019

There are many different scents in the world that consumers can purchase to accessorize their day. Walk into a local fragrance shop and you will be bombarded with different scents to try or sample. Considering that golf is a classic gentleman’s sport, we wanted to share different scents and a wide variety of products that can make either a great gift or scent for those business deals on the course. We often talk about how the right golf course accessory can enhance the way that you play. For instance, alignment sticks can help with your alignment with putting. When it comes to cologne, it’s quite similar.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 12 hrs of research

icon
Hermes Terre D’Hermes
97.5/100 our score
Value
97
Size
98
Potency
98
Features
97
Hermes Terre D’Hermes
Why is it better?

Smells delicious.

Long lasting scent.

Citrus and woody notes made for gentleman.

Luxury brand with years of experience.

Masterful design quality.

Large size for the price.

The price has been lowered.

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Hermes Terre D’Hermes
Test Winner: Hermes Terre D’Hermes
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
15
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
800
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
12
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
15
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Value Size Potency Features By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.5
Value
97 %
Size
98 %
Potency
98 %
Features
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.19)
Amazon Link
$103.95
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.8
Value
95 %
Size
97 %
Potency
97 %
Features
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.19)
Amazon Link
$72.00
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Value
94 %
Size
95 %
Potency
93 %
Features
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.19)
Amazon Link
$46.19
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.3
Value
93 %
Size
94 %
Potency
91 %
Features
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.19)
Amazon Link
$76.00
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Value
89 %
Size
90 %
Potency
92 %
Features
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.19)
Amazon Link
$207.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.3
Value
88 %
Size
89 %
Potency
90 %
Features
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.19)
Amazon Link
$59.05
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
Value
87 %
Size
88 %
Potency
87 %
Features
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.19)
Amazon Link
$30.00
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Value
85 %
Size
86 %
Potency
84 %
Features
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.19)
Amazon Link
$67.92
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83
Value
84 %
Size
84 %
Potency
82 %
Features
82 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.19)
Amazon Link
$80.00
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.8
Value
83 %
Size
83 %
Potency
80 %
Features
81 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.11.19)
Amazon Link
$89.00

Top 10 Picks

1. Hermes Terre D’Hermes

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.5
Hermes Terre D’Hermes
Amazon Link
Value
97
Size
98
Potency
98
Features
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$103.95
Pros:

Smells delicious.

Long lasting scent.

Citrus and woody notes made for gentleman.

Luxury brand with years of experience.

Masterful design quality.

Large size for the price.

The price has been lowered.

Cons:

Only a few left in stock at a time.

This next brand on the list is easily known as one of the most luxurious brands of all time. If you are a gentleman that wants a quality product that is built to last and a cologne that will outshine most of them, this is the cologne for you. We want to share the Hermes Terre D’Hermes Cologne and what makes it an outstanding product.

Read more

Woody and Citrus

If you are a fan of delicious flavors and quality design, this is the product for you. The scent in this bottle is a blend of woody cedar notes and orange and citrus scents. With this, it creates an aromatic and quality product that will last for hours on and off the golf course.

Gentleman Scent

It is very common that woody scents happen to be made for more mature gentleman and individuals that want a mature and quality scent. With that, the scent if this cologne happens to be one of the highest quality in the industry, especially if you want a delicious and simple cologne scent.

Cost and Value

To discuss the cost and value of this item, we want to share with our audience that the scent of this awesome cologne is very well liked and it happens to have five stars. With that, we can say to our audience that this product is of the best quality and design if you want a masterful brand cologne that is designed to last. For the price, it is on the costly end of the spectrum.

2. Acqua Di Gio by Giorgio Armani

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.8
Acqua Di Gio by Giorgio Armani
Amazon Link
Value
95
Size
97
Potency
97
Features
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$72.00
Pros:

Quality product from a trusted brand.

Excellent customer review.

Smells very clean.

Has been around for a long time.

Recommended for casual evening or daytime use.

Cons:

Too common.

Does not last as long as other brands.

As the next product, we want to share, this cologne happens to be one of the most common in the industry and individuals will find it to be highly appealing. This product has been around since 1996, making it one of the most touted and also common. If you want a daily cologne for golf practice or a simple game, we recommend the Acqua Di Gio by Giorgio Armani.

Read more

The Scent

The scent of this product happens to be a fan favorite due to the blend of delicious notes from orange to jasmine, bergamot, and lemon. With that, it also has lime, orange and more. It is a blend of clean and also citrus deliciousness that individuals will enjoy for hours to come.

Brand History

This brand has one of the largest resumes of quality in the industry, their products happen to be made for quality and individuals have easily touted them as being a great brand to consider. As far as colognes, this one is known as one of the most popular of all time.

Cost and Value

If there is a cologne commercial playing on TV, it is most likely this one. With that said, we can say that this cologne is very high quality, lasts a long time, and goes great with any outfit. Whether you want it for a simple day on the golf course or as a gift to an individual, you can never go wrong with this cologne. The price is much less than other colognes and that is because it is so common. However, it does have 4.5 stars and over 3.8k reviews.

3. Dolce and Gabbana The One

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Dolce and Gabbana The One
Amazon Link
Value
94
Size
95
Potency
93
Features
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$46.19
Pros:

Quality scent.

Designed to last for hours.

Modern bottle design.

Premium brand.

Currently on sale.

Cons:

The scent does not last very long.

As the next item to talk about, this one actually happens to be on sale currently. Therefore, if you are wanting a premium cologne at 3.3oz at an unbeatable price, this is it. This cologne launched by Dolce and Gabbana and it was named The One for one simple reason, this is the one for you! Actually, we are unsure why the name is “The One” but, individuals will find this scent to be very masculine and smell great.

Read more

The Notes

This product has primarily scents of tobacco and amber notes alongside cedarwood. With that in mind, the scent is very masculine, creating a quality product that is perfect for any evening wear. For daytime use, it may be a bit too strong and woody for some individuals. However, if you need to head to the golf course then dinner after, this is the item for you.

Quality Fragrance

The fragrance of this item is a quality and delicious fragrance that is designed to last for hours. With that, it is perfect as a casual wear cologne that will go well with any evening golf outfit. Overall, the bottle is also very subdued and very modern, while keeping it professional and quality made.

Cost and Value

This item is actually much more affordable than most colognes on this list, which is surprising considering this brand is one of the highest qualities in the industry. With this in mind, we recommend this cologne to individuals that want a simple product that smells very great and looks great. As a gift for any man, it is a great scent and a very stylish bottle.

4. Guilty by Gucci

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.3
Guilty by Gucci
Amazon Link
Value
93
Size
94
Potency
91
Features
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$76.00
Pros:

Trusted brand with years of experience.

Quality cologne that is built to last for hours.

High quality and easy to recognize.

Great bottle design.

Cons:

May be too strong for individuals.

May cause headache.

As the next cologne on our list, we can say that this product is very high quality and very popular. In fact, this has been named one of the most seductive and delicious scents for men when it comes to colognes. It is modern, smells great, and it is very musky and strong. We want to share with our audience the Guilty by Gucci 3oz. spray and what individuals can expect from this bottle.

Read more

Musk and More

The design scent of this product has many different notes ranging from musk to bergamot and orange blossom. With that, individuals can expect the scent to be very high quality, smells great and be very delicious. Overall, we can say that the scent is for individuals that want a very strong scent.

Lasts a Long Time

Whether you place the scent of this cologne behind your ear, on your wrist, or simply spray it on yourself, it will last a long time. In fact, only a few drops are enough for the scent to be widely noticed. With that in mind, individuals can expect the bottle to also last a long time because a little goes a long way.

Cost and Value

This product happens to be very high quality, long lasting and smells great. With that in mind, individuals can expect the scent to be very delicious and be very noticeable to others. If you want a scent that will get you noticed, this is the scent for you. Overall, even the price is very affordable considering the fact that the cologne has been out for a while.

5. Acqua Di Parma Colonia Intensa

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.8
Acqua Di Parma Colonia Intensa
Amazon Link
Value
89
Size
90
Potency
92
Features
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$207.99
Pros:

Quality product and trusted brand.

Delicious smelling scent.

Great for special occasions.

Very strong scent.

Pure oil consistency.

Cons:

Highly costly.

Released by one of the most premium brands in the scent industry, we want to share a cologne that cannot be missed. This product is actually not very common and only certain individuals will be able to recognize the brand. Although not commonly known, this brand is one of the highest tier premium brands as far as quality scents. We want to share the Acqua Di Parma men’s cologne Oud concentration spray and two benefits to consider if you are considering this product.

Read more

Woody Scents

This item is a woody blend of rich wood and spicy wood. With that, individuals can expect a very lustful and sensual scent that is musky and relaxed. Alongside this, the oil consistency of the product makes the scent very strong and will last for a long time.

Premium Bottle

This bottle happens to be a premium blend of quality and design Alongside this, the brand has designed the bottle to be quiet simple, high quality and long lasting. The 3.4 oz bottle and the spray should only be used in the rarest of occasions and individuals will find it to be very valuable and high quality.

Cost and Value

We cannot tout enough, how high quality and delicious this scent is. With that, this brand is known for premium value and the scent happens to be one of the most luxurious to date. Now, as far as price, this item happens to be double the price of the first cologne on our list, Hermes, which is easily one of the highest quality brands in the industry.

6. Paco Rabanna 1 Million

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.3
Paco Rabanna 1 Million
Amazon Link
Value
88
Size
89
Potency
90
Features
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$59.05
Pros:

Delicious scents of mandarin, cinnamon, spicy notes, and more.

Quality bottle design.

Designed to last hours.

Very masculine and relaxed scent.

Affordable price.

Cons:

4.5 stars from many individuals.

This product on our list is from the house of Paco Rabanne and it happens to be a fresh and sensual scent that is very relaxing and great for all occasions. The design of this product is of the best value and individuals can expect this to smell great. Alongside this, individuals will find the bottle to be a comedic and unique design that is modern and very hip.

Read more

The Scent

The scent of this product includes a blend of red oranges, grapefruit, spices, blond leather, and more. With that, the scents are very high quality and blend together to create a delicious mixture of quality and an aromatic sensual experience. With that, the design and blend of notes are very complex and somewhat, also subtle.

The Bottle

The bottle was designed to resemble a gold bar. Should we say anything else? If you want a fun and quality designed bottle or a delicious scent that is relaxed, this is it. Alongside this, this product is great as a gift for any individual.

Cost and Value

Considering the cologne bottle is a gold bar with “1 million” engraved on it, is it costly? Actually, no! A 3.4 OZ bottle is nowhere near as costly as some individuals may think. With that, the 3.4 oz bottle is average among many other brands that we have shared, making this product very affordable.

7. Dreamer by Gianni Versace

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.8
Dreamer by Gianni Versace
Amazon Link
Value
87
Size
88
Potency
87
Features
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$30.00
Pros:

Delicious smelling cologne.

Quality scent and built to last.

Different sizes available.

Very relaxed and perfect for casual wear.

Suitable for daily use.

Cons:

Individuals have associated the scent as being that of laundry detergent.

This next cologne happens to be discontinued from the Versace brand by you can still get it today. With that, this happens to be a fan favorite cologne to many individuals. With a blend of sage and lavender, the Dreamer cologne is delicious, smells great and is highly enjoyable. Here are two features of this item.

Read more

The Versace Brand

This brand has long been associated with quality and design. Therefore, without a doubt, this cologne will reflect the quality of this brand and their unique tailoring to induce a certain feeling of style. With that, this product does exactly that. Feel like a dreamer and achieve your perfect golf score with this product.

Great Day Cologne

This cologne is one of the most subdued, relaxed, and fresh scents that an individual can buy. In fact, it is touted as a casual wear cologne due to the quality of the design and the strength of the scent. This cologne is great for daytime use and individuals will find it to be very high quality and also smell delicious.

Cost and Value

We can say that individuals will appreciate the scent of this product because of the quality and delicious flavor. Alongside this, this scent is very relaxed, and the notes of lavender and mandarin create a dance between bold and fresh. With that, we want to share with our audience that the price is very low due to the fact that it is one of the oldest colognes this brand offers.

8. Polo by Ralph Lauren

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Polo by Ralph Lauren
Amazon Link
Value
85
Size
86
Potency
84
Features
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$67.92
Pros:

Bold and smells great.

Delicious scent.

Different sizes available.

Large size for the price.

Currently on sale.

Cons:

Does not last a while.

It is time to talk about one of the biggest fashion houses in the world. They have their trademark on towels, home products, clothing, and even cologne. With that, they have become one of the most trusted brands in the fashion industry for their take on fashion and quality. This is the Polo by Ralph Lauren and here are two features to consider.

Read more

Manly Scent

The scent of this product is a highly manly scent. The scent is a blend of patchouli noir, mango, and silver armoise. With this, we can say that the scent is long-lasting alongside a delicious and manly, making it a fragrance many people will enjoy.

The Bottle

The scent is not only manly, the bottle is manly. The bottle of this product is an all-black bottle with a silver top that is minimal and modern. With that, individuals will find this to be a perfect take on the classic gentleman’s cologne that would be common in the 1990’s and before. With this, Ralph Lauren has created a bold and traditional blend of scents that last a long time.

Cost and Value

Considering the brand, this product happens to actually be a bit more costly than others on the list. With that, it also is priced very well and currently, is on sale for less. Overall, individuals that are a fan of this brand will find this product to be of the highest value and benefits, creating a delicious blend of manly boldness and traditional classiness.

9. Hugo Boss MAN

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83
Hugo Boss MAN
Amazon Link
Value
84
Size
84
Potency
82
Features
82
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$80.00
Pros:

Quality bottle design.

Designed to last a long time.

Trusted brand.

Bold and modern design.

Fresh scent and very manly.

Cons:

Not a strong as other manly scents.

This next scent on our list is from a brand that excels in creating dynamic quality designs for men. The Hugo Boss brand is known for creating the classic gentleman style alongside fitted and modern designs. Now, they appeal to the classic gentleman scent by creating this, Man, the classic scent by Hugo Boss.

Read more

Manly Fresh Scent

This brand has designed this scent with a unique and quality blend of fresh and manly. The fresh scent is due to a blend of crisp green apples and herbs, while the manly scent comes from wild forest scents such as pine and other woody scents. With that said, the smell is delicious, modern and smells very fresh.

Trusted Brand

This happens to be one of the most trusted brands in the fashion industry when it comes to men’s fashion. This product is designed to last, designed to smell great, and designed to be great for any casual situation. With that, we can say that individuals will find the flask-shaped glass bottle to be a very native design to the gentleman in all of us.

Cost and Value

As far as price, this item is nowhere as costly as other colognes, but it is up there on the scale because of the design of the product. This cologne is a quality product that is designed to last and individuals will find it to be very effective and high quality. Overall, we recommend it to any individual that wants a quality and great smelling scent.

10. John Varvatos Vintage

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.8
John Varvatos Vintage
Amazon Link
Value
83
Size
83
Potency
80
Features
81
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$89.00
Pros:

Trusted luxury man’s brand.

Quality bottle design.

Quality aroma and scent.

Made to last.

Bold and spicy.

Cons:

Not for everyone.

Too spicy.

As the next cologne on our list, we want to share with our audience the John Varvatos Vintage cologne, which happens to be made for the classic gentleman that wants a modern and trusted scent for the golf course. Here are two features of the last product on our list.

Read more

The Notes

This item is very spicy as far as notes and the scent. The scent is a blend of rhubarb, juniper, and berries alongside cinnamon tree leaves. Therefore, the scent is delicious, but it is very spicy, modern, and designed for the man that wants a high quality and very bold and noticeable scent. With that, individuals can spray on a little bit and it will be widely noticed.

The Bottle

The bottle of this product happens to be one of the most unique and manly scents in the industry. The bottle is an all brown bottle with a leather textured design wrapped around the bottle with the name printed on it. With that, this is very common among luxury scents and individuals can expect the bottle to be easier to hold and the spray to be easy to spritz.

Cost and Value

As far as price, this is on the higher end of the spectrum. However, you do get a 4.2oz bottle for the price. With that, individuals will find the price of this item to be reflective of the quality due to the scent and the strength of the aroma. Overall, it smells great and individuals will find it to be well worth it.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Value

To discuss cost and value, it is important to recognize that the value of the cologne is determined by numerous factors. With that, we want to list different factors to consider when picking out a cologne.

The scents.
The consistency.
The bottle design.
The history of the brand.
The popularity of the brand.
The bottle material.
The cologne potency.
All of these different factors will determine the overall quality of the product and the overall strength of the cologne. With this, it is important to ask yourself, what factors are the most important to you. To some individuals, the strength of the cologne alongside the potency is not as important as it is the style and scent.

Size

Other factors that cause the cost to range is the bottle design and the size. Some bottles are made of acrylic while some are made completely of glass. With that said, the size will also determine the overall cost of the product. However, the size works in tangent with the consistency. Think of it as a scale, there are different sizes, strengths, oil consistencies, and more.

With that said, there are also many different bottle designs that will complement the overall style and look of the product. The bottle designs tend to complement the scent with woodsy and spicy scents being a bit more fun and outlandish, while fresh scents tend to be more relaxed and calm.

Potency

The strength of the scent is an important element in picking out the right scent for you. The reason being is that there is going to be different strengths when picking out a cologne. With this said, do you know what determines the strength of a cologne? It actually happens to be how potent and strong the oils are compared to the other liquid inside of the product. In fact, the potency of the oil also determines how high quality and premium the product will be, which also raises the price. There is a brand of scents called, Clive Christian, which happens to be one of the most expensive scents in the industry ranging in the $800 – $1k range. The reason being is that their oil consistency inside of their bottles is as strong as 98%, making it an extremely strong bottle to consider.

With this in mind, we want to share with our audience that there is a wide variety of different scents to consider and the scent will also determine the strength and the consistency. So, another factor of the strength is the long-lasting duration of the cologne. Therefore, we want to share that most colognes are designed to last four to six hours.

Features

The scent and the notes that compile the scent is what makes a product one of the highest qualities in the industry. With that in mind, it is important to consider that there is a wide variety of different scents in the industry and they all range as far as quality and strength. Now, we will discuss this a bit later on. For now, we want to focus on the different scents and what they create as far as a blend. We are not cologne experts, but we want to share what we know.

These scents are the following most common spices to consider inside a cologne. For fresh scents, you want to consider lavender, mint, sandalwood, lemon, and other very herbal scents. There are also very musky scents that are a range of must, Indian spices, woodsy spices and trees such as oak and cedar and even moss. With that, there are very oriental scents such as patchouli, vanilla, and cinnamon. Lastly, there is the floral blend of scents such as rose, jasmine, and gardenia.

With all of this in mind, there are also different notes to consider. There are bottom notes and top notes. These notes allow for an individual to smell a certain scent at first and the second scent after. Such as, if the top notes are floral you will smell that first and it will be the boldest. However, once time has passed and the scent has diminished, individuals can experience a different scent such as woodsy or spicy.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Breathability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Dont get stuck on size!

A few people may find themselves very apprehensive about the size of the bottle and whether or not it will be worth it. Most colognes require just a spray to be effective!

Scents are memorable

Debating on whether or not you should start to wear cologne? Reminder, that scents are very memorable and they actually help people remember - so consider your investment in cologne to be a good one to not only smell great but leave a lasting impression!

Other Factors to Consider

Bottom Line

Whether you are a fan of Giorgio Armani or Paco Rabanne, there is a wide variety of different scents to consider, all of which will adjust to your body and the way that you sweat. Actually, here is an important note to consider when picking out a quality item and wearing it.

Did you know that you are not supposed to spritz your clothes? You are, in fact, suppose to wear it on your skin. The reason being is that cologne will differ depending on your skin and the way that you sweat. The clothing and the detergent that you use on your clothes will cause the tone and scent of the product to alter itself and not be 100% accurate. With that, we can say that picking out the best scent for you is a trial and error experience.

Sometimes you know the one that you want, and sometimes you know that a particular scent will not work well with you. Sometimes, a particular scent is just not the right one for you and you simply don’t like it. This is why we would like to introduce you to the art of picking out a scent.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: What is the best scent for casual wear?

a:

This really depends on the individual. However, most commonly, the best scents for casual wear and fresh and relaxed scents. With that, many scents ranging from lavender to musky and woodsy are great for everyday wear. While spicy scents are known for evening wear.

q: What is the bottle made out of?

a:

The most common material of a quality bottle is either glass or acrylic. With that, the bottle material will determine the quality of the brand. Most tops tend to be made of plastic or stainless steel that is coated.

q: How long does a cologne last for?

a:

Most colognes will last for an average of four to six hours, but it all depends on the strength of the oil.

q: What is the most common cologne size?

a:

The two most common cologne sizes are 2.4oz and a 3.4 oz. With that, the bigger the size the more costly it will be.